Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White


Charlottes_Web

 

My husband bought a second-hand copy for me after learning that I never read Charlotte’s Web.

 

My rating:  5  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

Wilbur was lovingly raised by a girl named Fern. But now he’s a barn pig. He’s bored and lonely – until he meets Charlotte, the beautiful grey spider who also lives in the barn.

Charlotte thinks of a wonderful way to save Wilbur from a pig’s unhappy fate. Her clever plan will delight you, in this famous story Charlotte’s Web.

 

Genre(s):  Children’s Literature, Classic

Series:  –

Length:  184 pages

Release Date:  1952

 

Teaser


At last Wilbur saw the creature that had spoken to him in such a kindly way. Stretched across the upper part of the doorway was a big spiderweb, and hanging from the top of the web, head down, was a large grey spider. She was about the size of a gumdrop. She had eight legs, and she was waving one of them at Wilbur in friendly greeting. “See me now?” she asked.


 

My Opinion

This book introduces you to Fern who saves the runt of a litter. After a little time, Wilbur has to move to her uncle’s farm.

With Charlotte’s Web, E. B. White has created a remarkable story of a friendship between a pig and a spider. It is a story about friendship, love and death. The story comprises a variety of believable characters – not necessarily two-legged and a nicely flowing plot line. It is a carefully and expertly written story. I had a good time reading Charlotte’s Web – it is a very moving read. I was drawn into the story right away, pretty close to Wilbur and Charlotte. Believe me: My attitude towards spiders has undergone a change for the better. This is for you if you like children’s literature with a message and a good flow. It is a slow and steady read, giving the reader time to comprehend.

A book to read again.

Highly recommended.

In brief:

Writing Great
Plot Some twists
Mood Hopeful
Pace Slow (steady)
Characters Developed
Violence No violence
Sexual content No sexual content
POV Third person

 

About the author

Elwyn Brooks White (born: July 11, 1899 in Mount Vernon; died: October 1, 1985) was a leading American essayist, author, humorist, poet and literary stylist and author of such beloved children’s classics as Charlotte’s Web, Stuart Little, and The Trumpet of the Swan. He graduated from Cornell University in 1921 and, five or six years later, joined the staff of The New Yorker magazine. He authored over seventeen books of prose and poetry and was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Letters in 1973.

White always said that he found writing difficult and bad for one’s disposition.

Mr. White has won countless awards, including the 1971 National Medal for Literature and the Laura Ingalls Wilder Medal, which commended him for making “a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.”

 

Amazon:

Author page:  E. B. White

Amazon (US):  buy link

 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Charlotte’s Web?  Or – if you did not yet read Charlotte’s Web – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If Charlotte’s Web was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

22 thoughts on “Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White

  1. I love this book and the movie. For me, the movie brought it to life and just made you fall in love with the book that much more. I watched the movie with our granddaughter when it first came out I even bought her the Wilber stuff animal to go with the movie.We both enjoyed it.

    • It seems that this book has lots of fans, Katie. 🙂
      I did not see the movie so far. I was deeply impressed by the storytelling – this probably kept me from watching the movie, I suppose.

  2. Charlotte’s Web is a childhood favorite of mine. Funny how I never read the book, but only watched the 70s animation. I will have to read the book now 🙂

    • It is a very enjoyable story; I am also glad that I finally read it. In this case, I do not need a film. Sometimes it can be fun to see a filmed version, though.

    • It will certainly help, Annabelle. We tend to shy away from seemingly creepy other species. Not all spiders are as adorable as Charlotte, though.

  3. I could have sworn I commented on this yesterday… This is one of my favorite childhood books. I suspect that a lot of little kids who decided to go vegetarian did so because of this book. 🙂 Not only is it a good story, but the language is also wonderful. There are good stories…and then there are well-written good stories. 🙂

    I don’t want it as a live action film. Film adaptations always disappoint me. It was a pretty good animated film, though.

    • I was already a vegetarian before reading this book. Children aren’t usually told about what ends up on their plates. Whatever the parents eat, is normally considered all right.
      It is very well-written story – I couldn’t agree more, Teresa. 🙂
      A film adaptation in this case might well be a Pixar film. My guess is that the animated film already is the best possible version. 🙂

  4. I like “Charlotte’s Web” and “Trumpet of the Swan.” They each hold respect for life, nature and particularly animals. I read “Charlotte’s Web” in elementary school and, while a teacher, to my class. I advanced during the year to “Rascal.” My brothers liked Jack London books about the Mother cold and animals, particularly wolves. My son liked “White Fang” and “The Red Pony.” Then I read “The Yearling.” The stories have metaphors for life and symbolism where the story tells more about how to have good interpersonal relationships.

    • Respect for life, nature and animals is very important, Robin. It is a real pity that these values are not deemed as important as they used to be.
      European schools often have a different focus on literature. I read a lot more than the other kids – and still didn’t have the opportunity to read all the classics; I read The Secret Garden while preparing for my university degree…

  5. Love the book. I used to teach it. The only odd thing about it is how the book seems to begin with Fern as protagonist and then she becomes very minor (thank goodness).

    • I couldn’t agree more, Luanne. Fern is important as she saved Wilbur from an early death. The author seemed to share our opinion…
      I love the friendship between Charlotte and Wilbur.

  6. You know this book is my brother Bacon’s all time favorite book. There is just something that he can relate to with Wilbur. It’s a great read and we watch it from time to time on his television. ❤ Houdini

    • Bacon has excellent taste. Such a heart-warming story deserves to be an all-time favourite. I am glad that you also like it, Houdini. 🙂

    • It is a great book and I grew pretty fond of Charlotte.
      In our daily life, we don’t have to love spiders, we should just respect them as living beings.
      I am glad that I had the opportunity to read this book. 🙂

Leave a reply :-)

