The Slapstyx by Annabelle Franklin


The_Slapstyx

 

The author sent me a copy (mobi format) in exchange for an honest review (member of Rosie’s Book Review Team).

 

My rating:  4.4  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

With the help of the grubby Slapstyx goblins, dastardly detergent manufacturer Zachary Zigstack is turning the oceans into toxic slime infested with ravenous sea monsters.
Twin sisters Georgie and Gem can leave their bodies at will and explore other dimensions – which means they can spy on the Slapstyx and find a way to stop them. But can they do it before all the sea creatures are destroyed? The Slapstyx are dangerous as well as dirty, and have nasty ways of killing people who cross them…

 

Genre(s):  Children’s, Fantasy

Series:  –

Length:  185 pages

Release Date:  2015-02-17

 

Teaser


I can see faces on the walls,’ whispered Gem.

‘Where?’

‘There, look – where there’s no wallpaper.’


 

My Opinion

This book introduces you to Zachary Zigstack, a greedy billionaire, successful in the detergent business. When his best employee marries the mother of Georgie and Gem, Zachary does not anticipate that there is trouble ahead.

With The Slapstyx, Annabelle Franklin has created a funny and suspenseful story of two girls who want to save the world. They are not too keen on their stepfather and his son Miles and even less on their new home. The Slapstyx are annoying as they keep getting the house dirty and the girls have to take the blame. The characters are believable and of sufficient depth, the matter of environmental protection is cleverly woven in the twins’ adventure. The story has a very pleasant flow, is expertly balanced between the good and the bad. The Slapstyx is a very enjoyable read – not only for children.

This is for you and/or your children if you like children’s adventures with a slightly educational, fantasy and/or paranormal touch.

Recommended.

In brief:

Writing Great
Plot Some twists
Mood Suspenseful
Pace Steady
Characters Developed
Violence No violence
Sexual content No sexual content
POV Third person

 

About the author

I live on the South Gower coast, in an area of outstanding natural beauty that gives me plenty of inspiration. I hate housework and often wonder if there’s a breed of gruesomely grubby goblin whose sole purpose is to mess up people’s homes. My new book The Slapstyx explores this idea.

I like to think the fabric of material reality is riddled with holes leading to magical dimensions. When my nephew had a phase of video game addiction, I wondered how he would manage in a dimension where technology was banned: would he embrace the adventure or suffer withdrawal symptoms? This is how I came to write Gateway to Magic.

I spent most of my time in school writing stories, whether I was meant to be doing it or not. Since then I’ve had various jobs, played in two bands, taught children to play keyboards, written and performed in plays and made a short film. One of my scripts was shortlisted in a BBC scriptwriting contest, with positive feedback from Tony Jordan.

I share my home with Millie and Pearl, two beautiful rescue dogs who allow me to see the world through their eyes. They are also responsible for a lot of the mess.

 

Connect with the Author:

 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about The Slapstyx?  Or – if you did not yet read The Slapstyx  – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If The Slapstyx was filmed or to be put on stage – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

rosies-book-review-team-1

 

7 thoughts on “The Slapstyx by Annabelle Franklin

Leave a reply :-)

