3 Quotes – Chuck Palahniuk


Chuck_Palahniuk

 

Chuck Palahniuk
(Charles Michael “Chuck” Palahniuk)

American novelist, essayist and journalist

 

born:
February 21, 1962 in Pasco, Washington, USA

http://www.chuckpalahniuk.net/

 

My best advice for writers is: Have your adventures, make your mistakes, and choose your friends poorly – all these make for great stories.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
The act of writing is a way of tricking yourself into revealing something that you would never consciously put into the world. Sometimes I’m shocked by the deeply personal things I’ve put into books without realizing it.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
The unreal is more powerful than the real, because nothing is as perfect as you can imagine it, because it’s only intangible ideas, concepts, beliefs, fantasies that last. Stone crumbles, wood rots. People, well, they die. But things as fragile as a thought, a dream, a legend, they can go on and on.

 

 

Which is your favourite quote by Chuck Palahniuk?  🙂


26 thoughts on “3 Quotes – Chuck Palahniuk

  1. I love all your quotes and you are so ‘right on’. But the 3rd encompasses so much truth in writing that it has be be my favorite. I also like the way you realize, which many writers do not, how much of themselves – – their hurts, desires, fears, loves and hate go into their characters; a nice way to save money on therapy. 🙂

  2. Pingback: 3 Quotes – Chuck Palahniuk | Angie's Blog

  3. I recently read Invisible Monsters and found two great quotes, both spoken by the character Brandy Alexander: “What you are from moment to moment is just a story,” and “Our real discoveries come from chaos… from going to the place that looks wrong and stupid and foolish.”

    • Thank you very much, Teresa.
      You might know ‘The Fight Club’, starring Brad Pitt and Edward Norton; the movie is based on Chuck’s first book.

      • Ah! I thought the name sounded familiar; that’s probably why….though I confess to never having watched The Fight Club (but it’s well-known enough that I am familiar with it and its premise). 🙂

      • I didn’t see this movie either, just heard a lot about it. Perhaps I’ll watch it on a rainy day, Teresa. 😉

      • Whenever I talk about making soap, my friends would ask if I’ve seen the Fight Club…LOL! It’s not really my kind of movie, so I may just read the novel instead.

Leave a reply :-)

