Ghosts: Recordings of the Past by David J. Schmidt


Ghosts_RecOfThePast

 

The author sent me a copy (mobi format) in exchange for an honest review.

 

My rating:  3.9  of  5  stars

Plot
(by David J. Schmidt)

This book goes into one theory about what ghosts and hauntings might be all about–they may not be “spirits” after all.

This book is free for all visitors to this site. To get your copy just tell me what address to send it to.

 

Genre(s):  Ghosts, Non-Fiction

Series:  Tiny Staircase

Length:  30 pages (estimated by reader)

Release Date:  2015-07

 

Teaser


In the Whaley House, it isn’t unusual to hear footsteps walking across the wooden floorboards when you’re the only one in here. The first time this happens, you follow the footsteps to the back room where they stopped. You get ready to tell the person they can’t be in here, the building is closed. You prepare to ask them how they got in, since all the doors are locked – then you realize nobody is there.


 

My Opinion

This book is a collection of eleven events.

With Ghosts: Recordings of the Past, David J. Schmidt has created a suspenseful collection of eerie stories or – as the author states: “If you are a lover of eerie tales and appreciate life’s great mysteries, you’ll love the short books in The Tiny Staircase.” The stories show us different phenomena and provide food for thought. I had a good time reading Ghosts: Recordings of the Past – it is an interesting read. Some stories reminded me of some odd and seemingly inexplicable events. The collection with its explanations is pretty interesting.

This is for you if you are interested in ghosts, haunted places or just want to read about this topic from a different angle.

This book is part of the Tiny Staircase series, there’s more to come. To find out more about how to get the books in The Tiny Staircase series for free, sign up for David’s ghostly newsletter.

In brief:

Writing Good
Plot n.a.
Mood Thoughtful
Pace Slow
Characters n.a.
Violence No violence
Sexual content No sexual content
POV Third person

 

About the author

David J. Schmidt is an author, professional storyteller, translator, and home-brewer from San Diego, CA. He speaks nine languages and has been to 29 countries, discovering mysterious tales in nearly all of them.

Schmidt is the author of two humorous romance parody novels, “Pirates of the Danube” and “The Baron Rides Again.” He was a co-author of “The Daily Book of Art” and “The Daily Book of Photography,” and has published a number of articles and short stories in publications in the United States, Canada, and Mexico. Schmidt has collected folklore and strange stories around the world, from the remote mountains of southern Mexico to the jungles of Peru, from Ireland’s pubs to Egypt’s “City of the Dead”.

Schmidt received his B.A. in psychology from Point Loma Nazarene University, and lives in San Diego, CA.

 

Connect with the Author:

 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Ghosts: Recordings of the Past?  Or – if you did not yet read Ghosts: Recordings of the Past – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If one or more of the stories within Ghosts: Recordings of the Past was filmed – who should direct it/them, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

 

10 thoughts on “Ghosts: Recordings of the Past by David J. Schmidt

  1. I’m always drawn to “ghost” stories, but once they’re in my hand, I nearly always chicken out. Funny how reading about something can make it nearly real.
    Regardless, I’ll put it on my list. Test my courage. 😛

  2. Sounds fascinating Karen. I don’t like to read horror books for they linger on in my head long after I’ve read and I get frightened in the dark, lol. But ghosts and spirits fascinate me because I’ve encountered them in my own life. 🙂

    • It is a fascinating read, Debby. There are no demons or monsters in this book. It is about harmless appearances.
      When returning to Dublin one evening, my husband and I once stepped aside to let someone pass by. There was nobody. Despite that we had seen an additional shadow…

Leave a reply :-)

