3 Quotes – Astrid Lindgren


Astrid_Lindgren

 

 

Astrid Lindgren
(Astrid Anna Emilia Ericsson)

Swedish writer

 

born:
November 14, 1907 in Vimmerby, Sweden

died:
January 28, 2002 in Stockholm, Sweden

 

I don’t mind dying, I’ll gladly do that, but not right now, I need to clean the house first.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
I have been very interested in labour movement. If I could have wished another life, I would have loved to be a pioneer woman in the beginning of labour movement.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
I have never experienced being madly in love the way most people seem to have been, although it is not something I would miss. Instead I have had an enormous ability to love my children and my grandchildren and my great-grandchildren.

 

Which is your favourite quote by Astrid Lindgren?Β  πŸ™‚


27 thoughts on “3 Quotes – Astrid Lindgren

  1. Number two sounds interesting. #1 – Not ready to die and cleaning my house wouldn’t be the priority if so. #3 To have missed a great passionate love would have been a sad thing for me not to experience. πŸ™‚

  2. Thank you for following my blog. I grew up with Astrid Lindgren, I think my mom read me every book and story she wrote , at least 90% of what was translated into German, and I think almost all her writing was translated. Seeing you quote her here made me smile. πŸ™‚

    • My pleasure, Solveig. I love multi-linguists and their blogs.
      I was glad when someone requested a three quotes blog post… I remembered how much I disliked Annika, being unaware of the resemblance: shy and boring πŸ™‚

  3. I just simply lovedβ™‘ loved β™‘ loved β™‘ Pippi Longstocking, her monkey and adventures! I read them to my grandies and I even read them to my elementary students. Better than one of my other favorite mischievous character, Curious George. πŸ™‚
    I would choose the second quote since cleaning house nor ordinary adventures are my goal in life!! Nicely done, Karen.

    • Pippi’s stories are indeed very entertaining. Many parents were shocked, others loved them.
      I am glad that there is a quote you like, Robin. Thank you for the praise. πŸ™‚

      • I dont, but my nieces who live in Holland used to watch Pippi Longstocking cartoons on the tv when they were little, and loved them. I remember from the times I went to visit them. I dont believe its ever been on tv here or in Uk, that I know of, anyway.

      • These films are still shown on German television, as are Astrid Lindgren’s other works. The stories are also fun reads.

  4. This reminds me that I need to re-read Pippi Longstocking books! I love that first quote of hers…if I can put off dying that way, I just may live forever. πŸ˜‰

    • These books were fun – as were the films.
      I never heard that first quote before, knew that I had to integrate it.
      I am glad you like it, Teresa.

Leave a reply :-)

