Lisa Burton on The Experimental Notebook of C. S. Boyack


TENofCSBoyack

 

 

Dear readers,

As you certainly have heard before, The Experimental Notebook of C. S. Boyack will be published and/or delivered on 2015-09-15!

This book is available for pre-order: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B014S2BA4U

You are certainly eager to learn more about the “Notebook”, therefore I invited Lisa Burton, my ‘Character of the Year 2014’ to tell us a little more about the book and her role in it.

You may know Lisa Burton from C. S. Boyack’s writing cabin (https://coldhandboyack.wordpress.com/) and from my flash fiction series Neighbors! (https://inasmallcompass.wordpress.com/). Lisa is an awesome detective (review: Wild Concept by C. S. Boyack), helping Sheriff Jim Burrell in Neighbors! to solve a strange mystery.

***

Hi Lisa, thank you for following my invitation to another chat. We would all love to hear about Craig’s latest work!

Hi, Karen, I’m so excited to be back here. Craig has me making the rounds as part of my spokes-model duties. He’s promoting a new book, and is so happy that you offered your blog space.

The book is called The Experimental Notebook of C. S. Boyack, and it really is an experiment. Short stories nearly died out about a decade ago. Publishers wanted novels, and that’s fine. Magazines were the home of most short stories, and they are all disappearing these days. Self publishing gave them a new lease on life, and Craig is very excited about his “Notebook”.

Craig writes speculative fiction, and dabbles in all aspects of it. “Notebook” includes some fantasy, some paranormal, and some science fiction. As a robot girl, I’m all about the science fiction. It’s a collection of a dozen or so short stories and micro­fiction. At 99¢ it’s a heck of a good deal.

I think you’ve read all of Craig’s novels, but I still see one in your sidebar. If you haven’t finished it yet, it’s way fun. Roald the dwarf is so cute I could just hug him. Okay, I did. Don’t tell his wife.

Lisa, I can assure you that I am already reading the novel you are referring to. As I have some deadlines to meet [as usual] I cannot stick with it all the time. As the story is expertly told, I remember everything and do not need to reread the sections. I’ll have it finished soon – please stay tuned for my review; it will be proof of the fun I had reading.

Because you’ve been such a great supporter, I brought you one of my new posters. There is a story in the “Notebook” that includes this biplane. Craig wanted me to pose with it to help advertise the book. Feel free to post it on your blog and share with your readers.

Lisa_Craig_EN

My favorite part is my new short story. Craig keeps me busy around the writing cabin, and I don’t think I’m ever going to get a sequel. He relented and gave me a short story though. It’s set right after the end of Wild Concept. I’m pretty unhappy living incognito, but a mad bomber forces me out of hiding. My story is called Bombshell Squad.

Craig’s Muse sends him all kinds of ideas, but not everything is worthy of a novel. Rather than discard them, he’s been writing them down and saving them. Now that short stories are respectable again, he decided to bundle them up and publish them.

These stories are short enough to read on a commuter train, or a coffee break. That’s actually a pretty cool way to enjoy them.

Advance readers all said good things, and delivered a list of their favorites. Every reader had different favorites, and that means every story worked for someone. Craig hopes readers will take a 99¢ chance on this book, and it may lead them to explore his novels. He even included a free sample of Will O’ the Wisp at the end.

Craig wants me to tell everyone that while “Notebook” isn’t illustrated, it’s almost like an old issue of Heavy Metal Magazine. He gets these things in his head, and if I don’t say that I’ll be in trouble.

Thank you so much for inviting me back, and say hello to that cute sheriff for me. I need to get back to the writing cabin. I don’t like to leave Craig there alone too long. He might blow the place up or send it through a time vortex.

Dear Lisa, thank you so much for your time. I will say hello to Sheriff Jim – he misses you. And I wouldn’t say ‘no’ if you agreed to guest star again. Have a fab time and send my regards to Craig.

***

Dear readers,

If you would like to know more about Craig and his works, please check out the links below. Happy reading.  🙂

Craig’s works on Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00ILXBXUY

 

15 thoughts on “Lisa Burton on The Experimental Notebook of C. S. Boyack

Leave a reply :-)

