Point of No Return by Diana J. Febry


Point_of_no_Return

 

I received a copy of this book (mobi format) in exchange for an honest review (member of Rosie’s Book Review Team).

My rating:  5  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

The significance of the noose left hanging outside James Palmer’s barn is obvious to everyone in the village. When threats turn to violence DCI Peter Hatherall has to unmask a master of disguise determined to have their revenge.

 

Genre(s):  Crime, mystery

Series:  (DCI Hatherall & DI Williams)

Length:  245 pages

Release date:  2015-08-01

 

Teaser


“I can sympathize with your wife’s reaction. I wouldn’t be too happy if I woke to discover a noose hanging in a tree outside my window,” Fiona said.

“Not the best start to a morning,” James agreed, his voice tense and strained. “Linda is worried they are more than empty threats. She’s convinced, sooner or later, they will actually do me some harm.”


 

My Opinion

The book leads DCI Peter Hatherall and DI Fiona Williams to Grange Farm, owned by James Palmer; weird stuff is happening. I will not tell you more about the story than shown in the Goodreads plot description. This would spoil the fun of reading this book yourself.

With Point of No Return, Diana J. Febry has once again created an intriguing story of a relatively easy seeming case that is just the beginning of a strange series of events. Point of No Return is a very gripping read with lovingly elaborated characters; I learned a lot about the characters, helping me to come to my own conclusions, being involved in solving the case. Diana J. Febry gives the reader time to get acquainted with the characters and the case and it gets more and more thrilling as the story proceeds – thanks to a cleverly woven plot line. I was drawn into the story right away, was really close to Peter, Fiona and all events. Point of No Return is a great British mystery – a highly enjoyable read. You will enjoy it even if you usually prefer fast-paced reads.

This a book to read again. Highly recommended.

In brief:

Writing Great
Plot Some twists
Mood Suspenseful
Pace Steady (slow)
Characters Developed
Violence Some violence
Sexual content No sexual content
POV Third person

 

About the author

Diana lives in Great Britain and calls herself “An accidental writer.”

 

Connect with the Author:

 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Point of No Return?  Or – if you did not yet read Point of No Return  – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If Point of No Return was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

rosies-book-review-team-1

 

7 thoughts on “Point of No Return by Diana J. Febry

  1. Pingback: Who Killed Vivien Morse (DCI Hatherall, #4) by Diana J. Febry – My train of thoughts on…

  2. I am intrigued and happy when you give all 5 stars since this means you fully endorse this books writing, Karen.
    On another note, sometime soon I have a Premios Dardos award nomination post with a short list of 10 “winners” and u was not sure if you are a no awards post but I listed this blog. I admire your energy and how you read such diverse styles or genres of books. I don’t always get here but when I do I pay attention! 🙂

    • Thank you very much, Robin. I always love to give 4-5 stars. I love the interaction between the author’s and my own mindset.
      Thank you for listing my blog on your nomination list – an honour I’d gladly accept. 🙂

  3. I’ve read the book and would recommend it. I picture Peter as someone like Ben Miller (I probably saw too much ‘Death in Paradise’) and Fiona like Emily Blunt.
    I have a neighbour who would need no acting training at all to be James Palmer, but maybe Billy Nighy?

    • I really appreciate the fine quality of the characters and scenes, my 5 stars are well deserved.
      These actors are great choices, Christoph. If your neighbour is not an actor, Billy Nighy will have to make do. 😉
      I need to admit, that I would love to see these stories on television

Leave a reply :-)

