The Experimental Notebook of C. S. Boyack


TENofCSBoyack

My rating:  5  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Amazon)

A speculative fiction selection of micro-fiction and short stories. These were designed to be short reads for your commute, coffee break, and other times when readers are pressed for time. This book contains a bit of science fiction, some fantasy, and paranormal stories.

The stories: Jack O’ Lantern, Something in the Water, 73 Seconds, Bombshell Squad, Diplomat, Urban Renewal Project, The Soup Ladle of Destiny, 50 Gallon Drum, A Tale of Rebirth, A Humid Business, Extending Life, Transference

 

Genre(s):  Speculative Fiction, Micro-Fiction, Anthology

Series:  n.a.

Length:  114 pages

Release date:  2015-09-15

Cover design:  Rachel Carrera (https://rachelcarrera.wordpress.com/)

 

Teaser


That ladle and a few kettles and pans were the only things left of her mother now. Lily doubted if the magic existed, but it was a good ladle.

She preferred stories of knights and heroes. She even used the ladle to conk Randy Marsden over the head when he made fun of her.


My Opinion

This anthology comprises twelve different stories, taking you on twelve very different trips; some will make you happy, some will make you sad, others will make you wonder. There is one thing that they all have in common: They are unforgettable. I cannot tell you more about this anthology as it would spoil the fun of reading it yourself.

With The Experimental Notebook of C. S. Boyack, C. S. Boyack presents us with twelve little gifts. Each story is skilfully elaborated, has its own great flow. Ernest Hemingway once stated “When writing a novel a writer should create living people; people not characters. A character is a caricature.” C. S. Boyack shows this masterly with every story – he created living people instead of mere characters. I was drawn into the story right away – very close to the protagonists. I could easily envision the characters and locations. I had a great time reading The Experimental Notebook of C. S. Boyack. It is a very enjoyable read. This is for you if you like adventures with a humorous streak, very likeable characters to cheer on their thrilling trip, surprises and food for thought – all packed in micro-fiction and short stories.

This is a book to read again. Highly recommended.

In brief:

Writing Great
Plot Full of surprises
Mood Suspenseful; Hopeful; Dark; Thoughtful
Pace Steady
Characters Developed
Violence Some violence
Sexual content No sexual content
POV Alternating persons

 

About the author

I was born in a town called Elko, Nevada. I like to tell everyone I was born in a small town in the 1940s. I’m not quite that old, but Elko has always been a little behind the times. This gives me a unique perspective of earlier times, and other ways of getting by. Some of this bleeds through into my fiction.

I moved to Idaho right after the turn of the century, and never looked back. My writing career was born here, with access to other writers and critique groups I jumped in with both feet.

I like to write about things that have something unusual. My works are in the realm of science fiction, paranormal, and fantasy. The goal is to entertain you for a few hours. I hope you enjoy the ride.

Craig

Connect with the Author:

Website:  https://coldhandboyack.wordpress.com/

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/Virgilante

Amazon:  C. S. Boyack

Amazon:  buy link


Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about The Experimental Notebook of C. S. Boyack?  Or – if you did not yet read The Experimental Notebook of C. S. Boyack – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If The Experimental Notebook of C. S. Boyack was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors? Which of these stories would be your favourite on screen?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂


10 Statements – C. S. Boyack

Review:  Wild Concept

Review:  Arson

Review:  Will O’ the Wisp

Review: Panama

Review: The Cock of the South

 

21 thoughts on “The Experimental Notebook of C. S. Boyack

  1. Pingback: The Experimental Notebook of C.S. Boyack II by C.S. Boyack – My train of thoughts on…

  2. Pingback: The Playground by C. S. Boyack – My train of thoughts on…

      • I’m a stay-at-home mom (no commute) trying to do a lot of my own art and writing (plus I have a ton of critiques to do for my 3 critique groups as well as a workshop I’m attending this month), so I don’t have a lot of reading time and a HUGE list of books I want to read. :}

      • Wow. You’d need to have 36-hour-days to read all the books on your list – in addition to all other items on your agenda… Despite your time issues: Have a fab Friday, Teresa. 🙂

      • Unfortunately, I also need a lot of sleep, so that cuts down my reading time even more. I need a time-turner! 😀 Happy weekend to you, too, Karen!

      • Where are the magickal engineers when we need them?! A time-turner would be great. Or – you haven’t by chance got the magic Harry Potter edition?
        Have a fab weekend, Teresa! 🙂

Leave a reply :-)

