10 Statements – Nicholas Rossis


book photo NR_500

 

 

Nicholas Rossis lives to write and does so from his cottage on the edge of a magical forest in Athens, Greece. When not composing epic fantasies or short sci-fi stories, he chats with fans and colleagues, writes blog posts, walks his dog, and enjoys the antics of two silly cats, one of whom claims his lap as home. His children’s book, Runaway Smile, earned a finalist slot in the 2015 International Book Awards and in the 2015 IAN Book of the Year Awards. You can read it for free on his blog.

He has also written the epic fantasy series, Pearseus. The final book in the series is currently penned and expected in fall 2015.

Many of his short stories have appeared on various collections and anthologies. He has published The Power of Six, a collection of short sci-fi stories that includes his award-winning short story, I Come in Peace, and Infinite Waters, a collection of short speculative fiction stories.

 

 

Find me…

Blog:   http://nicholasrossis.me/

Twitter:  www.twitter.com/Nicholas_Rossis

Google+:  https://plus.google.com/+NicholasRossis

Facebook:  www.facebook.com/NicholasCRossis

 

My personal motto:

“You will get all you want in life if you help enough other people get what they want.” (Zig Ziglar)

10 statements

A typical work day begins with… The missus and I let Perro (don’t let the name deceive you – he’s our cat, so-called because of his obvious identity issues) in, and he jumps on the bed. We play with him for a few minutes before getting up. I love how he nuzzles his nose and snuggles up against us (he’s on my lap purring as I type this).

I lose track of time… When I write. Or read. Or code. Or play video games. Hours can pass in what I can only refer to as the perfect blend of computer and mind. What I like to call, Nerdvana.

I have always… Felt a need to connect with others. And loved reading.

I have never… Erm, eaten a snake? Visited China? Perhaps the latter explains the former, of course.

Home means to me… Where the missus is.

I am inspired by… Anything, but mostly reading. Certain movies and TV shows work nicely, too, as do conversations.

I would like to meet… Philip K. Dick. I think of him as a modern-day prophet, and can only imagine the conversations we’d have.

My worst character trait… It’s hard to answer this objectively, so I checked with my better—and omniscient—half. According to her, I read too much into things. Sometimes a cigar is just a cigar. Or is it?

My best character trait… Again, according to the afore-mentioned half, my generosity.

The best advice I was given… Was to use worms for bait. Sounds weird, but it was in a book by Dale Carnegie. He pointed out that he personally loved strawberry tarts, but when he went fishing, he used worms. Now, he had no great taste for worms—but fish did.

In other words, don’t try to give others what you need; give them what they need.


My books

Anyone interested in his books can check them out on Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Nicholas-C.-Rossis/e/B00FXXIBZA/

People can read Runaway Smile for free on http://nicholasrossis.me/childrens-books/

or buy it from Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Runaway-Smile-fairy-unshared-wasted-ebook/dp/B00QQC2YLY/

Cover_bundle_1000
Cover_Smile_Kindle

 

 

Cover_Infinite_1000

 

cover_Po6_700

 

 

22 thoughts on “10 Statements – Nicholas Rossis

Leave a reply :-)

