Miss Fortune – A Memoir by Albina Hume


Miss_Fortune

Miss_Fortune_2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The author sent me a copy (mobi format) in exchange for an honest review.

 

My rating:  5  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

“Who would think that my inability to pronounce the letter R would turn my life upside down and lead me from Ukraine to South Africa?”

Albina Hume is often asked the same question – how did she meet her South African husband John, a property developer and a rhino breeder, who is 36 years her senior? She has always kept her response simple. Until now …

Her childhood fear that no one in Ukraine would want to marry a ‘crow’ at first resulted in various misfortunes, from failing dreams and relationships to even ending up in a police cell for 51 days, until she finally learned to focus on her dreams, not her fears.

Now, Albina and John Hume have dedicated their lives to preventing the South African rhino population from becoming extinct by breeding rhinos for future generations.

In the past six years, they have bred over 500 white rhinos, with Albina emerging as a pro-rhino activist, advocating for an end to the war on trade in rhino horn that has only resulted in illegal trade and killing of rhinos and also people in Africa. Albina calls for legalising trade in horn – a renewable product – to help create harmony between African people and their natural heritage.

 

Genre(s):  Memoir, Biography

Series:  n.a.

Length:  304 pages

Release Date:  2015-05-14

 

Teaser


Her eyebrows rose in surprise. “And why is that?” She was very proud of her school.

“There is a school in Debaltsevo that has a more advanced programme,” I said. “I’ll be leaving for high school in a year. I’d like to be better prepared.”

I certainly wasn’t going to tell her the real reason I wanted to leave. I knew adults couldn’t fix the problem.


 

My Opinion

This book introduces you to Albina; on her way from child to grown woman – searching for the one true love outside of the Ukraine.

With Miss Fortune, Albina Hume has created an unforgettable memoir. The story comprises a variety of interesting characters with sufficient depth and an excellent combination of a captivating journey with unanticipated events – some dreadful, some unbelievable, some too good to be true. I had a great time reading Miss Fortune – it is a very captivating and heart-warming read. I was drawn into the story right away, becoming an invisible and close friend. Albina is a very likeable character. As a reader, I watched her grow, suffer, struggle, win, lose. Albina tells the readers openly what happened on the rocky journey to becoming the woman she is today; at the same time, we readers are prone to bury some clichés. This memoir has a steady pace, it is hard to put down.

This is for you if you like intense memoirs, heart-warming reads and romance (as in ‘searching for the right one’).

This is a very captivating memoir to read again.

Highly recommended.

In brief:

Writing Great
Plot Some twists
Mood Hopeful
Pace Steady
Characters Complex
Violence Some violence
Sexual content Some sexual content
POV First person

 

About the author

I was born and raised in Ukraine, in a small village called Volchanovka in the Donetsk region.
My life’s journey could be described in one phrase: “Who would think that my inability to pronounce the letter R would turn my life upside down and lead me from Ukraine to South Africa?”
“Miss Fortune” tells the story of what it takes for some Ukrainians to achieve their dreams.
Note: “MISS FORTUNE” is about search for love and happiness, not about my current passion- saving rhinos for future generations.

Now, I live in South Africa, where my husband and I have dedicated our lives to preventing the South African rhino population from becoming extinct because of rhino poaching crisis developed from the change of national law where trade in horn was suddenly changed. We use own funds after selling property development business to breed rhinos for future generations.
In the last six years we have bred over 500 white rhinos- a world record in private rhino conservation.
Since the change of national ‘rhino’ law which caused rhino wars, I’ve become a pro-rhino activist, advocating for an end to the international war on trade in rhino horn, that only creates conditions for illegal trade and results in killing of rhinos and also people in Africa.
I founded the Facebook page- Future4Rhino, calling for legalization of trade in rhino horn – a renewable product – to help create harmony between African people and their natural heritage.

 

Connect with the Author:

 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Miss Fortune?  Or – if you did not yet read Miss Fortune – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If Miss Fortune was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

6 thoughts on “Miss Fortune – A Memoir by Albina Hume

    • It wasn’t easy to reach her goal. Personal growth and the love of her life are the results; we can really say this a happy ending, Sue.

Leave a reply :-)

