10 Statements – Allie Potts


Color headshot

 

 

When not finding ways to squeeze in 72 hours into a 24 day or chasing after children determined to turn her hair gray before its time, Allie enjoys stories of all kinds. Her favorites, whether they are novels, film, or simply shared aloud with friends, are usually accompanied with a glass of wine or cup of coffee in hand.

 

 

Find me…

Blog:   www.alliepottswrites.com

Twitter:  @alliepottswrite

Facebook:   https://www.facebook.com/alliepottswrites

Google+:   http://plus.google.com/117880279044201443030

My personal motto:

“When you are just over five foot tall you learn quickly how to appreciate the little things in life.”

10 statements

A typical work day begins with… starring bleary eyed at the alarm clock hoping beyond realistic hope that I simply forgot to turn it off and it is in fact a Saturday followed by large quantities of coffee.

I lose track of time… when left alone to read a great book. Unfortunately my uninterrupted reading time has greatly diminished since the kids showed up. Mommy with a book open apparently translates into mommy should be doing something for me now.

I have always… been directionally challenged. I firmly believe my internal compass is upside down as I have gotten lost on a battleship, around town, and within nature parks only to learn all I had to do was to turn the other direction.

I have never… enjoyed shoe shopping. Society has told me that as a female, I am supposed to love shoes while spending heaps of money finding the perfect pair to match every outfit, but I just can’t seem to get into it. I’d much rather spend the money on food, books, or movies.

Home means to me… being in the place where I am most comfortable.

I am inspired by… a number of things. Art inspires me. Nature inspires me. People overcoming obstacles, taking risks, or following dreams inspire me. My kids inspire me. I think inspiration is everywhere if you just stop for a moment to look for it.

I would like to meet… At first I was going to answer Malala Yousafzai because she has such an incredible story, uplifting message, and motivational air about her. Then I was going to say Stephen Hawking or Neil de Grasse Tyson because their work fascinates me. But then I realized that if I met any one of these people I would likely be so overwhelmed by my idea of them that I would probably intimidate myself out of having a meaningful conversation. I’d likely leave the meeting regretting the questions I didn’t ask and then enter into a shame spiral for not taking better advantage of a once in a lifetime opportunity. So, instead I am going to say I would like to meet my blogging friends. They get me and accept me as I am.

My worst character trait… is my tendency to overthink a situation to the point of obsession. See previous answer.

My best character trait… is my stubborn streak. It is what keeps me motivated to do what I said I would even though there may be something else I would rather do.

The best advice I was given… ”If you miss a note during a performance, keep playing.” My piano teacher told me this as I was readying for a recital. She continued, “the majority of the audience hasn’t heard you practicing this piece for the last several weeks. They don’t know how it is supposed to sound. They will however notice if you stop.”


My books

An UNCERTAIN FAITH-web

An Uncertain Faith – http://authl.it/B00PYYB06A

Feeling trapped in a job that bores her, Charlotte used to yearn for the life she had before the responsibilities of marriage and motherhood. That was until the day she came home to find her husband and son missing. Did they leave her, or is there a more dire explanation? An extreme example of the reason to be careful what you wish for, Charlotte must now come to terms with her new reality and decide if she wants to continue to merely daydream about a better future, or to take charge of her own life. Along the way she must also locate her family, deal with the up and downs of running a small business, and decide what it is she really wants.

Release Date:  December 2, 2014

 

FairandFoulFullwebHQ_02

The Fair & Foul – http://authl.it/B01678T7CU

Juliane Faris is a brilliant programmer determined to change the world through scientific and technical advancement. Blinded by ambition, she will do whatever it takes to secure her legacy including agreeing to participate in an experimental procedure. The procedure grants her unprecedented knowledge and cellular control over her body but threatens everything she holds dear including her sanity. When others undergo the same modifications it becomes apparent that not everyone can afford the price that this technology demands

Juliane has a supercomputer for a brain and she isn’t afraid to use it. Perhaps she should be.

Set in the not too distant future, The Fair & Foul is earth-based science fiction dealing with the next era of human evolution. The line between humanity and technology is blurring, and what seems like magic is only a scientific discovery away.

>  Release Date:  November 4, 2015  <

 

Dear readers, you may already have detected The Fair & Foul on my ‘Reviews with a deadline’ list… Watch out for my review. 

18 thoughts on “10 Statements – Allie Potts

  1. I once brought three different maps with me on a business trip (before GPS was big) and was still late for my appointment. I have mad navigational skills.

    I like my height. It keeps me from seeing much of the dust on the shelves of my house.

  2. My daughter is vertically challenged, too – she is 5’3″ on a good day, while her Mom is 5’9″. She used to have an inferiority complex but she beat it. My husband has used me as his personal GPS unit – I seem to have a sense of direction, but he complains because 1-2% of the time I’m wrong, so he got a Garmin when they first came out!

  3. It is a pleasure to meet you, Allie! I am only 5′ 3/4″ myself. I seem to be looking up at most people and enjoy talking to children who are smaller than I! Lol! Best wishes with your books! I will follow you.

Leave a reply :-)

