Chained: Everything you know is a lie (Cage of Lies, #1) by Susanne Valenti


Cage_of_Lies_1

The author sent me a copy of this book (epub format) in exchange for an honest review.

My rating:  4.3  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

Terrified of the contamination and the creatures it has created, humanity hides behind The Wall. No one knows what lies beyond the wasteland. Maya has never thought much about what might still be out there, lurking in the forgotten places. But when she’s thrust into the unknown, she is forced to question everything she has ever been told. Not everyone outside died, some of them became something… else. As her heart is torn in two, every choice she makes is harder than the last. What she discovers will change her forever. She knows she will probably die, but Maya has seen enough of death and she won’t let it have her without a fight.

 

Genre:  Science Fiction, Young Adult, Dystopian

Series:  Cage of Lies, #1

Length:  313 pages

Release Date:  2015-10-o11

 

Teaser


“Outside? As in outside The Wall?” He was winding me up, I knew it, but my stomach flipped over all the same. I had always wanted to go outside. To see a world that wasn’t contained within concrete.


 

My Opinion

The book introduces you to Maya and Taylor. They are childhood friends, living within a city within The Wall. When Maya’s helmet suffers a defect on their mission for checking soil and air contaminants, Taylor’s solution to take it off results in their arrest. I will not tell you more about the story than shown in the Goodreads plot description. This would spoil the fun of reading this book yourself.

With Chained, Susanne Valenti has created a compelling and cleverly elaborated first book in the Cage of Lies series. Maya and Taylor are sentenced to be messengers in the SubWars for three months – together with rapists and murderers. The first day on the job is hell. I was drawn into the story right away – as a silent (thankfully invisible) ally. Susanne Valenti tells the story in a clever way – giving the reader the opportunity to be very close; she expertly elaborates her characters. As the story proceeds you learn more about the protagonists and the world they live in. There are some real surprises, finding their way nicely into your perception of the story. I had a great time, reading Chained.

This is a book for you if you appreciate a pretty different combination of the science-fiction, young adult and dystopian genres. It is not hard-core science fiction.

A book to read again. Recommended!

Writing Great
Plot Full of surprises
Mood Suspenseful
Pace Steady
Characters Developed
Violence Some violence
Sexual content No sexual content (some hints)
POV First person

 

About the author

I’m a dystopian / sci fi author (that’s the dream anyway) but my day job is a little less creative and a has a bit more catitude. That’s right, I made a terrible cat pun 😸. I work with my family running a boarding cattery (that’s a hotel for cats) and we also help some lovely rescue kitties while they look for their new homes.

I have a little sister who is similar to me in pretty much every way; we look alike, talk alike, love the same things, hate the same things with the same insane passion and are even both aspiring authors! 👯

I met my husband when I was seventeen. We have been together for ten years which is long enough for me to find out that he’s the most infuriating man I’ll ever meet and to learn what true love really is. I am insanely lucky to have him next to me in everything I do even if we never look at anything in quite the same way.

 

Connect with the Author:

 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Chained?  Or – if you did not yet read Chained – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If Chained was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

6 thoughts on “Chained: Everything you know is a lie (Cage of Lies, #1) by Susanne Valenti

  1. Pingback: Bound: Everything you know is a lie (Cage of Lies, #4) by Susanne Valenti – My train of thoughts on…

  2. Pingback: Broken: Everything you know is a lie (Cage of Lies, #3) by Susanne Valenti – My train of thoughts on…

  3. Pingback: Linked: Everything you know is a lie (Cage of Lies, #2) by Susanne Valenti – My train of thoughts on…

Leave a reply :-)

