10 Statements – D. G. Kaye


D.G. Kaye Author

 

I’m a nonfiction memoir writer who likes to write about life, matters of the heart and women’s issues. My intent is to inspire others by sharing my stories about events I encountered, and the lessons that come along with them.

I love to laugh, and self-medicate with a daily dose of humor. When I’m not writing intimate memoirs, you’ll find me writing with humor in some of my other works and blog posts. If I’m not writing, I’m reading or quite possibly looking after some mundane thing in life. It’s also possible I may be on a secret getaway trip, as that is my passion—traveling.

 

Find me…

www.dgkayewriter.com

www.goodreads.com/dgkaye

www.amazon.com/author/dgkaye7

www.twitter.com/@pokercubster (Of course there’s a story to this name!)

www.facebook.com/dgkaye

www.about.me/d.g.kaye.writer

www.linkedin.com/in/DGKaye7

www.google.com/debbydgkayegies

www.instagram.com/dgkaye

www.stumbleupon.com/DGKaye

My personal mottoes:

“Be careful what you wish for, because you just might get it.”

“Do unto others as you would done unto yourself.”

10 statements
  1. A typical work day begins with… coffee and breakfast. If it’s a writing day, I begin right after breakfast, or it’s not going to happen that day once I get on the computer and work on other things such as: writing blogs, posting on social media, reading newsletters, marketing and publications.
  2. I lose track of time… once I get on the computer. Once I start navigating around and clicking links, one thing leads to another, then my husband suddenly appears home from work, hoping I’ll be off the computer in time to make him dinner.
  3. I have always… been a firm believer in the phrase: ‘Don’t put off for tomorrow what you can get done today.’ I always set my goals up for each day of things I need to accomplish the next day, in order to avoid a backlog of my ‘to do’ list. I’m usually pretty good at being able to tick off everything I wanted to accomplish each day, providing something unforeseen doesn’t creep up to cause delays. Hence, don’t put off for tomorrow.
  4. I have never… driven a stick-shift. I’m quite a good multi-tasker, and good at figuring things out, but driving a stick is something I never bothered to learn after a friend once tried to teach me about 30 years ago and I almost stripped her gears.
  5. Home means to me… My kitchen where I have all my ingredients to fuel my fussy eating habits. My bed, where no matter how wonderful a vacation I may have had, nothing feels as comfortable. Having instant proximity to all my writing tools and books at my immediate disposal.
  6. I am inspired by… the desert sky and the mountains. My dream is to live in Arizona one day.
  7. I would like to meet… my online friends one day. As a writer, we are most understood by other writers. We spend so much of our lives on the world-wide web, so it would be great to be able to get together in real life and connect.
  8. My worst character trait… would have to be that I worry too much. I worry about everything and everyone. I’m a professional worrier.
  9. My best character trait… is my empathetic nature. I try my best never to hurt anyone, and I always put myself in their shoes when confronted by a troubled friend.
  10. The best advice I was given… ‘If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all.’ I never would do something to someone that I wouldn’t want done unto me.

 


My books

Conflicted Hearts Cover MEDIUM revised

http://www.smarturl.it/bookconflictedhearts

MEMOIR/NONFICTION

A Lifetime of guilt — What does it take to finally break free?

Somehow I believed it was my obligation to try to do the right thing by her because she had given birth to me.

Burdened with constant worry for her father and the guilt caused by her mother’s narcissism, D.G. Kaye had a short childhood. When she moved away from home at age eighteen, she began to grow into herself, overcoming her lack of guidance and her insecurities. Her life experiences became her teachers, and she learned from the mistakes and choices she made along the way, plagued by the guilt she carried for her mother.

Conflicted Hearts is a heartfelt journey of self-discovery and acceptance, an exploration of the quest for solace from emotional guilt.

Release Date:  January 9, 2014

+++ +++ +++

Menowhat ebookcover 1800x2700_72dpi

http://www.smarturl.it/bookMenoWhatAMemoir

“I often found myself drifting from a state of normal in a sudden twist of bitchiness.”

From PMS to menopause to what the hell?

D.G. adds a touch of humor to a tale about a not-so-humorous time. While bidding farewell to her dearly departing estrogen, D.G. struggles to tame her raging hormones of fire, relentless dryness, flooding and droughts and other unflattering symptoms.

Join D.G. on her meno-journey to slay the dragons of menopause as she tries to hold on to her sanity, memory, hair, and so much more!

Release Date:  June 9, 2014

+++ +++ +++

Have bags, will Travel_ ebook 1200x1852_72dpi

http://www.smarturl.it/bookHaveBags

D.G. Kaye is back, and as she reflects on some of her more memorable vacations and travel snags, she finds herself constantly struggling to keep one step ahead of the ever-changing guidelines of the airlines—with her overweight luggage in tow. Her stories alert us to some of the pitfalls of being an obsessive shopper, especially when it comes time for D.G. to bring her treasures home, and remind us of the simpler days when traveling was a breeze.

In her quest to keep from tipping the scales, D.G. strives to devise new tricks to fit everything in her suitcases on each trip. Why is she consistently a target for Canada customs on her return journeys?

D.G.’s witty tales take us from airports, to travel escapades with best friends, to reflections on how time can change the places we hold dear in our hearts. Her memories will entertain and have you reminiscing about some of your own most treasured journeys—and perhaps make you contemplate revamping your packing strategies.

Release Date:  September 16, 2015

+++ +++ +++

Words We Carry ebook cover1800x2700_72dpi

http://www.smarturl.it/bookwordswecarry

I have been a great critic of myself for most of my life, and I was darned good at it, deflating my own ego without the help of anyone else.”

What do our shopping habits, high-heeled shoes, and big hair have to do with how we perceive ourselves? Do the slights we endured when we were young affect how we choose our relationships now?

D.G. takes us on a journey, unlocking the hurts of the past by identifying situations that hindered her own self-esteem. Her anecdotes and confessions demonstrate how the hurtful events in our lives linger and set the tone for how we value our own self-worth.

Words We Carry is a raw, personal accounting of how the author overcame the demons of low self-esteem with the determination to learn to love herself.

Release Date:  October 20, 2014

 

25 thoughts on “10 Statements – D. G. Kaye

  1. So much of what you write here is congruent with my list. Two stand out: Ditching the worries and meeting my online friends. So far I have met 4 of them! (If you ever get to Florida . . . or I to Toronto . . . or somewhere in between, who knows!)

  2. Great to see Debby here, Karen. I love her style of writing and she always comes over as a very friendly and humorous person. I hope one day that #7 on her list will come true as I would love to meet her.

    • Thank you very much for your kind feedback, Hugh. I am glad that Debby accepted to be featured in my series.
      #7 is something we all do seem to have in common. There’s still the next bloggers bash…

  3. Wonderful interview, Karen. Glad you posted Debby. It’s always a pleasure to know more about her. Your answer about your typical work day made me wonder if you work 7 days a week! 🙂

  4. I’m backtracking through blogs and was happy to get here and learn a little more about Debby. I can relate to the answer on #7 – I fantasize about meeting all my blog buds too! Fun post 🙂

    • I am glad that you seized the opportunity to learn more about Debby. The answer for #7 is something we all seem to have in common. 🙂

Leave a reply :-)

