10 Statements – Jonathan E. Seyfried


Jonathan E Seyfried

 

 

Jonathan Seyfried is a history teacher in Santa Fé, New Mexico. He is a longtime fan of sci-fi and time travel fiction. He writes with the assistance of his five cats and very patient and loving husband. He gets the inspiration and the energy to write novels and short stories from his students.

 

 

Find me…

My website/blog — http://www.jonathaneseyfried.com

My facebook — https://www.facebook.com/jonathaneseyfriedbooks

Goodreads — https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14391116.Jonathan_E_Seyfried

Instagram — https://instagram.com/jonathaneseyfried/

 

My personal motto:

“Never stop questioning, never stop growing, never stop creating, never stop loving.”

10 statements
  1. A typical work day begins with… feeding our five cats while making coffee, under tremendous pressure to not accidentally mix these two tasks.
  2. I lose track of time… when I am absorbed in a great novel, most recently 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami.
  3. I have always… loved to write political thrillers ever since my 8th grade science teacher, Mr. Fisch recommended the book Seven Days in May.
  4. I have never… gotten a tattoo and I really want one! But I can’t ever decide what to get. This gives me a haunting feeling that I have commitment issues. As a newlywed this is taking on new meaning.
  5. Home means to me… my loving husband, my feline family, and sunshine streaming in through big windows.
  6. I am inspired by… the energy and vitality of my high school students.
  7. I would like to meet… Hank Paulson, the Secretary of the Treasury during the 2008 financial crisis. I am fascinated by how powerful people act in moments of deep crisis, when the stakes are the highest you can imagine. In recent time, Paulson is the one American leader who really has experienced this. Others were involved, but he had the clout with the heads of the big banks. He had to make snap judgments that could have cast the into another Great Depression. I would like to ask him about some of those days when everything hung in the balance, what it felt like, and how he got through it.
  8. My worst character trait… is impatience. I have a bad habit of pushing too much on other people and fixating on what I can do even when there’s nothing else for me to do.
  9. My best character trait… especially when it comes to writing, is knowing how to match tasks to get done to my mood, energy level, and circumstances.
  10. The best advice I was given… was at a writing conference when a keynote speaker shared the following quote from Martha Graham: “There is a vitality, a life force, a quickening that is translated through you into action, and there is only one of you in all time. This expression is unique, and if you block it, it will never exist through any other medium; and be lost. The world will not have it. It is not your business to determine how good it is, not how it compares with other expression. It is your business to keep it yours clearly and directly, to keep the channel open. You have to keep open and aware directly to the urges that motivate you. Keep the channel open.”

My book

Time Riven - EBook 1570 x 2500

Time Riven – buy link

For years, time travel cured disease, freed the innocent, and convicted the guilty.
They thought it was safe.
They were wrong.

In the near future, the science of time travel is developed and regulated by the US government. The safety and benefits of time travel have become taken for granted by the American public. As work begins on the roll-out of private sector time travel, the government agency in charge of its regulation comes under attack.

Daniel Macon, Director of Security for the Department of Chronological Integrity, must discover the identity of a rogue chrononaut before time travel is turned against the country. As he pursues his adversary, he discovers that there are dangers in time travel that have been hidden from the public and the nation’s leaders.

The Secretary of DCI, his longtime mentor, has deceived him. An agent he once fired for incompetence becomes Daniel’s most trusted ally. A liaison officer from British Intelligence reveals an unimaginable fate for humanity. The inventor of time travel goes into hiding.

In the first book of the Time Riven series, the battle lines are drawn.

Daniel’s war against the future begins with a brutal attack on his own family.

Release Date:  September 18, 2015


Dear readers, you may already have detected Time Riven on my ‘Reviews with a deadline’ list… Watch out for my review. 

 

3 thoughts on “10 Statements – Jonathan E. Seyfried

  1. Pingback: Time Riven (Time Riven, #1) by Jonathan E. Seyfried | My train of thoughts on…

Leave a reply :-)

