The Sickness by Dylan J. Morgan


The_Sickness

The author sent me an ARC (epub format) in exchange for an honest review (member of Rosie’s Book Review Team).

My rating:  4.6  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

A husband confronted by his jealous wife . . . an old man abandoned so his grandson can claim his inheritance . . . a fifteen year-old boy disowned because of his handicap. All of them are dead. All of them have returned. And they have come for revenge.

James Harris is thirty-six years old, divorced, and has a sixteen year old rebellious daughter to contend with. His chaotic life is thrown into further turmoil with the phone call bearing news that his parents have died in tragic circumstances. Forced home to attend the funeral, James steps back into a world he’d tried so hard to forget.

Nash is a small farming community in rural England: picturesque and serene, but it has secrets—violent, horrific, depraved secrets. Wanting to keep their business hidden, the townsfolk are not about to let anyone leave. But when an unexpected visitor arrives in the village searching for James, things take a horrific turn for the worst and he is forced to face the horrors of his past if he is to have any hope of survival.

 

Genre(s):  Supernatural, Horror

Series:  n.a.

Length:  208

Release Date:  2015-10-24

 

Teaser


Glancing down at the resting place of a wretched individual, the shadowy figure said, “Accept my offering, and return.”


 

My Opinion

The story starts at an unmarked grave and a conjuration. James Harris is forced to return to the home town he despises – to attend his parents’ funeral. I will not tell you more about the story than shown in the Goodreads plot description. This would spoil the fun of reading this book yourself.

With The Sickness, Dylan J. Morgan has created an expertly woven plot, a thrilling horror novel. The Sickness comprises authentic characters; James is a very likeable guy, I liked him from the start. You may feel inclined to change your opinion on his daughter Ruth. The more you learn about her, the more you are inclined to really like her. I had a great time reading – this is a very compelling read. I was drawn into the story right away, close to James and relieved to be invisible.

The cover is awesome – perfect for this story.

This is for you if you like some shivers running down your spine, a creepy atmosphere and a mystery that needs to be solved.

A remarkable story to read again.

Highly recommended!

In brief

Writing Great
Plot Many twists
Mood Dark, suspenseful
Pace Fast
Characters Developed
Violence Some violence
Sexual content Some sexual content
POV Third person

 

About the author

Now living and working in Norway, Dylan J. Morgan was born in New Zealand and raised in the United Kingdom. He writes during those rare quiet moments amid a hectic family life: after dark, with limited sustenance, and when his creative essence is plagued the most by tormented visions.

If you’re searching for that light at the end of the tunnel then stop looking—you won’t find it here.

 

Connect with the Author:

 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about The Sickness?  Or – if you did not yet read The Sickness  – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If the The Sickness was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

rosies-book-review-team-1

 

8 thoughts on “The Sickness by Dylan J. Morgan

  1. I really like the way you do that summary at the end – what a good idea! I love Dylan’s writing, so I’m glad you enjoyed this, it was so atmospheric. I loved Ruth!

    • Thank you very much, Terry.
      I was hooked from the start, Dylan’s writing is awesome. And yes, I loved them both: James and Ruth!

  2. Thank you, Karen, for taking the time to read and review my book. I appreciate your kind words and I’m glad you enjoyed the story.

    Lizzy, thank you for your interest; if you’d like a review copy then please don’t hesitate to contact me at dylanjmorgan@ymail.com

Leave a reply :-)

