3 Quotes – Haruki Murakami


Haruki_Murakami

 

Haruki Murakami, Japanese novelist, short-story writer, essayist, translator

born:
January 12, 1949 in Kyoto, Japan

known for these books:
A Wild Sheep Chase, Norwegian Wood, The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle, Kafka on the Shore, 1Q84

 

There’s no such thing as perfect writing, just like there’s no such thing as perfect despair.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
When I write about a 15-year old, I jump, I return to the days when I was that age. It’s like a time machine. I can remember everything. I can feel the wind. I can smell the air. Very actually. Very vividly.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
I didn’t want to be a writer, but I became one. And now I have many readers, in many countries. I think that’s a miracle. So I think I have to be humble regarding this ability. I’m proud of it and I enjoy it, and it is strange to say it this way, but I respect it.

 

Which is your favourite quote by Haruki Murakami?


24 thoughts on “3 Quotes – Haruki Murakami

  1. When I write like a 15 year old seems very evocative of a time in my life when anything was possible, the world was my oyster and my writing was naive, beautiful and honest.

    • If you wrote this about your 15-year-old self, it would be really authentic – just like Haruki said. May we never lose the ability to remember and write accordingly. 🙂

  2. I liked this one the best. “When I write about a 15-year old, I jump, I return to the days when I was that age. It’s like a time machine. I can remember everything. I can feel the wind. I can smell the air. Very actually. Very vividly.” I have had the experience and it is terrific.

Leave a reply :-)

