3 Quotes – Garth Stein


Garth_Stein

 

Garth Stein, American writer, film producer

Born:
December 6, 1964 in Los Angeles, California, USA

Known for these books:
How Evan Broke His Head and Other Secrets, The Art of Racing in the Rain, Raven Stole the Moon, A Sudden Light

Website:  http://www.garthstein.com/

 

Anyone who has a dog knows that they have some very deep thoughts, that they have moods and emotions, they get their feelings hurt. It’s not a far reach to give them opinions and values and long-term desires.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
The craft of writing is all the stuff that you can learn through school; go to workshops and read books. Learn characterization, plot and dialogue and pacing and word choice and point of view. Then there’s also the art of it which is sort of the unknown, the inspiration, the stuff that is non-cerebral.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
I’m a writer because I love reading. I love the conversation between a reader and a writer, and that it all takes place in a book – sort of a neutral ground. A writer puts down the words, and a reader interprets the words, and every reader will read a book differently. I love that.

 

Which is your favourite quote by Garth Stein?


17 thoughts on “3 Quotes – Garth Stein

  1. Absolutely loved his “The Art of Racing in the Rain” and completely agree that dogs have deep thought and get their feelings hurt. Dogs have a lot to teach us about compassion and being human.

    • Thank you for your comment about “The Art of Racing in the Rain”, Jo-Anne. Seems like I really have to read it.
      I couldn’t agree more regarding your statement about dogs. Mankind could learn a lot…

    • This is an excellent choice, Kimberly.
      I heard lots of praise about The Art of Racing in the Rain, seems like a victim for my TBR list.

  2. I have to admit I wish I could have coffee or sit at a movie with Garth.
    My favorite quote is the one in the middle.
    Karen, I like how Garth delineates the difference between the Art of writing and how to “hone your writing craft.”

Leave a reply :-)

