10 Statements – Charles E. Yallowitz


Charles author photo B&W

 

Charles E. Yallowitz is the epic fantasy writer behind LEGENDS OF WINDEMERE and he is planning to branch out into the post-apocalyptic action comedy genre in 2016. Having spent most of his life wanting to be an author and even going to college for a Writing Arts degree, Charles went full-time in 2012 and hasn’t looked back yet. Partially because he’s scared of what he’ll see in his own shadow. When not writing, he’s watching TV, suffering on an exercise bike, or cooking. He lives in New York with the voices in his head, a wife, a rambunctious son, and his parents, so it’s a wonder that he hasn’t fallen asleep while writing this bio.

Seriously though, Charles jumped from one office or food industry job to another until he decided that he wanted to take his own life by the horns. He made a blog in December of 2012 and edited the novels he had finished for publishing in 2013. It has been a difficult, but exciting adventure that he hopes will continue for many years.

 

Find me…

Amazon Author Page  (where all my books can be found!)

Legends of Windemere Blog

Twitter

Facebook

Pinterest

Tumblr

LinkedIn

Google+

Goodreads

Website

 

My personal motto:

Just one more day.(‘House of Stone and Light’ by Martin Page)

10 statements
  1. A typical work day begins with… a little boy in footie pajamas rushing into the room to announce he’s awake. This leads to me tickling him with one hand while I boot up my laptop with the other. He questions me while I check email and Twitter notifications before I send him after his mother who is usually grumbling under the blanket by now. Once the kid is handed off, I grab breakfast to eat while finishing the morning Internet stuff that has gathered while I slumbered. It’s rare that I don’t hit the ground running as either an author or a father.
  2. I lose track of time… when I’m working out a writing problem. Following an outline and having things run smoothly doesn’t absorb me as deeply as when I hit a plot obstacle. This could be a continuity issue or a new idea that I want to slip into the story. Tends to occur more with my planning stages than the first draft novel writings.
  3. I have always… enjoyed making people smile and laugh with my stories. This has been a source of happiness for me since childhood. The idea that I can make somebody happy with my words has always fascinated and driven me. It did take a while to settle on writing. Tried singing, but I can’t carry a tune. Tried comedy, but I can only be funny by accident.
  4. I have never… read Game of Thrones. A friend bought me the first book for my birthday and made the worst pitch in my life. ‘Every character you love will die a horrible death.’ As a slow reader who gets attached to characters, I couldn’t bring myself to suffer like that.
  5. Home means to me… a place where I keep my stuff and can relax. Home is something I don’t really think about since it’s been a while since I’ve felt like I really had one. Long and personal story. I mean, I live in a house and I’m surrounded by family, but the sensation of ‘home’ always escapes me the last few years.
  6. I am inspired by… everything around me. A lot of my inspirations come from media like TV and movies, but I’ll come up with an idea while listening to music too. You never know what will trigger a story idea, so I keep myself open to the world around me.
  7. I would like to meet… whichever being decided that I’d have an imagination that doesn’t turn off. Sounds like a strange answer, but I’ve become rather curious as to why my mind works the way it does. Did it happen because of how I grew up or was it always like this since I was born? It makes it difficult to share my thoughts with others even inside my family, so I’d like to meet with my creator and find out why I am the way I am. Though with my luck I’d find out I’ve got a glitch and he/she never got around to sending me the software patch.
  8. My worst character trait… I panic very easily. I spend so much time looking at what can go wrong with the intention of preventing it that I end up driving myself nuts. I just can’t bring myself to go with the flow.
  9. My best character trait… is probably a strong sense of loyalty. A few friends have called me dog-like because I’ll stick with a terrible job or abusive person long after I should have left them to flounder in their own mess. This probably doesn’t sound like a ‘best’ trait, but those who treat me well always have a friend willing to help if he can. This seems to have bled into many of my characters too.
  10. The best advice I was given… I haven’t been given much advice in my life. At least nothing that stands out. One thing that I do remember that drives me forward came from my 12th Grade English teacher. It was a parent/teacher meeting and, according to my parents, he said the following: “Charles may never write the great American novel. Then again, he might just to prove me wrong.” This statement made me proud because I felt like I could defeat anything in my path as long as I put my mind to it. Though it also means I might be the person to claim victory solely out of spite.

Mercenary Prince Cover

Polaroid Collage

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Review – Beginning of a Hero (Legends of Windemere, #1)

 

29 thoughts on “10 Statements – Charles E. Yallowitz

  1. Karen, creative interview questions! Charles, your answers were interesting! Never thought about asking where my writing imagination came from. It was just here and there from childhood. Same with a profession in nursing, the idea from age 5. Our brains are unique in sorting out what and who influences us along the way. Then puts us to the task of accomplishing something! Your writing is certainly unique! Chryssa

    • Great point that every person is unique in our influences and interests. People seem to miss that these days, which is one reason why I’ve thought about why I am the way I am. (That was an awkward sentence. Sorry.) The origin of my ideas is one of the most common questions because to some it’s just baffling that I can come up with these things. Yet to me it’s more natural than things like math or cooking dinner.

  2. This was a fun post. It’s interesting to look inside the minds of those we meet on the screen. Charles, the great American novel is overrated. There are so many Pulitzer’s I have despised. I’ve gone from trying to achieve something literary to just having fun with my writing and it seems you do the same. I think that makes for the best reading. If you enjoy what you are writing, chances are your readers will enjoy it, too.

    • I read an article a while back that suggested the ‘Great American Novel’ is impossible. We are a country that contains nearly every language, culture, belief system, etc. in the world, so one literary work couldn’t satisfy every American citizen. The phrase is now empty and only means a successful book in the American market.

Leave a reply :-)

