Sparked (The Metal Bones Series, #1) by Sheena Snow


The_Metal_Bones_01

The author sent me an ARC of this book (pdf format) in exchange for an honest review.

My rating:  3.6  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

In a not-too-distant future, robots composed of metal for bones, electric cords for veins, and synthetics for skin are now available. For purchase. Eighteen-year-old Vienna Avery’s home is going to change forever, now that her mom purchased a French Chef Robot to cook and reside in their house.

Secrets will Unfold

The government claimed robots were indifferent, unthinking pieces of metal and elastic—assistance for hire to humans. Vienna never believed much of what the government said. The pieces didn’t always fit. And now Vienna knows why, because she’s uncovered the government’s secret: that robots have emotions, sucking Vienna into the underground world of feeling, thinking, and sovereign robots.

Sparks will Fly

Alec Cypher is everything a robot is not supposed to be: deep, dark, and dangerously human. And for some reason, he wants to save Vienna from the government’s prying, vindictive eyes. Going forward, Vienna will have to learn to trust robots and battle the growing feelings she never thought possible . . . feelings for the green-eyed, soul-searching robot named Alec.

 

Genre:  Young Adult, (Urban) Science Fiction

Series:  The Metal Bones Series, #1

Length:  326 pages

Release date:  2015-12-16

 

Teaser


“Abduction is when you take someone by force or deception. I didn’t take you anywhere.” He looked over his shoulder. “We don’t have time for this. They’re coming for you and you need to be careful.”

“Who’s coming?”

He stepped closer, blocking my view of the crowd. “Vienna, you need to be careful with everything you do. You understand?”

I narrowed my eyes. “I am careful.”


My Opinion

This book introduces you to Vienna Avery – she does not trust robots in the least; it does not come as a surprise that she doesn’t approve of her mother’s hiring a robot chef. Monitoring and research do not prepare her for the events to come.

With Sparked, Sheena Snow has created a quite different science fiction novel. It starts as a compelling read, made me chuckle among the way, drew me in as I learned more about Vienna and her entourage. A turn of events and the accelerated pace after about two-thirds of the story left some major blanks for me; the blanks will hopefully be filled with the second book in the series. Sheena Snow paints a pretty clear picture of the Vienna’s mind while the story evolves. The characters are of sufficient depth and quite interesting. The story is a nicely woven combination of the world as we know it and science fiction; the twists are sometimes surprising, the last chapters left too many open questions. I am going to read the next book in the series as well, hoping to find the missing answers.

This is a book for you if you like young adult science fiction series with an urban touch.

In brief:

Writing Good
Plot Many twists
Mood Suspenseful
Pace Fast
Characters Developed
Violence Some violence
Sexual content Some sexual content
POV First person

 

About the author

Sheena Snow, contrary to her name, lives in South Florida and has only seen snow once. But she would love for it to land on her eyelashes and sparkle in her hair. She loves painting, candle making, orchid shows, tattoo conventions, hockey games and library book sales! After college she landed a full-time job but kept serving pizza on the weekends and writing stories about characters she wished really existed, characters who never gave up no matter the obstacles life threw at them. At the age of twenty-six, she sold her first book and bought her very first puppy, a wonderful Yorkie named Aladdin.

Connect with the author:

Amazon:  Sheena Snow
Amazon US:  Buy link

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Sparked?  Or – if you did not yet read Sparked – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If Sparked was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

9 thoughts on “Sparked (The Metal Bones Series, #1) by Sheena Snow

  1. Thank you, Karen, for having me. And yes, the second book will fully explain everything. 😉 I’m glad you enjoyed. Thank you for your time and the review 🙂 happy new year! !!

  2. Karen – u rock at book reviews -seriously – just wanted to say that in case I have not mentioned this before –
    And Snow’s book sounds exciting -the cover felt like Terminator series – which is a good thing – 😉❤️

    • Thank you very much for the praise, Yvette! 🙂
      It is an enjoyable read: Vienna is a likable – and typical – teenager. I really like her and Alec. I need to read the next book, as I really have to understand what happened at one point. 😉

      • Well I am not sure “when” my book projects will come together – but I sure hope u would be available to review or give feedback – but in the meantime I will just enjoy your reviews and of course the triple shot of quotes posts!
        Have a nice day

    • It is a different approach – I really liked it. Regarding the turn of events I mentioned… I am pretty sure that the second book solves some of my open questions, Craig.

Leave a reply :-)

