3 Quotes – Neil Gaiman


Neil_Gaiman

 

Neil Gaiman, British novelist, graphic novelist and screenwriter

born:
November 10, 1960 in Portchester, Hampshire, England

known for these books:
The Sandman, Neverwhere, American Gods, Stardust, Coraline, The Graveyard Book, Good Omens, The Ocean at the End of the Lane

 

Write your story as it needs to be written. Write it honestly, and tell it as best you can. I’m not sure that there are any other rules. Not ones that matter.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
You get ideas from daydreaming. You get ideas from being bored. You get ideas all the time. The only difference between writers and other people is we notice when we’re doing it.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
Short stories are tiny windows into other worlds and other minds and dreams. They are journeys you can make to the far side of the universe and still be back in time for dinner.

 

Which is your favourite quote by Neil Gaiman?


45 thoughts on “3 Quotes – Neil Gaiman

  1. Karen, I like the windows quote since I do enjoy short imaginary trips. Also, for some reason, I was surprised I an 5 years older than he is!
    “Coraline” was made into a fantastic children’s animated film and reminded me of Tim Burton. Not positive but it would be rare to have this name and spelling.

  2. I heard a talk he did on the radio a while ago and it seemed every sentence was a brilliant quote in itself – he nails it each time, directly, without waffle. Great selection here, Karen.

  3. Great post, Karen. My favourite was the last quote. I guess that comment also hold true for blog posts. I’ve enjoyed catching up with bloggers I follow on this post as well and reading their contributions as well.

  4. Write your story as it needs to be written. Write it honestly, and tell it as best you can. I’m not sure that there are any other rules. Not ones that matter. Love this quote. From now on it’s going to be my motto! Thanks for sharing.

  5. My favorite of the three. “Short stories are tiny windows into other worlds and other minds and dreams. They are journeys you can make to the far side of the universe and still be back in time for dinner.” I love writing short stories. It is very relaxing for me and a way to let my writing hair down.

    • Excellent choice, John.
      Writing short stories can be tough. The shorter the story, the most dangerous it is to leave out reader-relevant stuff.
      I didn’t like short stories in the least. (says the not yet published writer of flash fiction series like ‘Neighbors!’ and ‘Oh. My. Dog!’) 😉

  6. dare I be different? I’ve always liked this one:
    Before you read this ride the night train.
    Do not sleep. Encounter people you remember,
    now long dead, and read to them.

    Before you read this.
    battle zombies,
    watch your step, trust no one,
    kiss without thinking.

  7. So funny. Yesterday I said the second one without ever seeing it. At the end of a post I said the story was a bit of a daydream. Someone came back and said that I must have very interesting daydreams. My reply was as poetic as Neil Gaiman’s, but, after saying most of my stories are based on daydreams i said, “Maybe the difference between a dreamer and an author is the author writes them down ;)”

    • Absolutely, Trent. 🙂
      I covered the ‘dream’ topic a few days ago with a poll. Non-writers call it nightmare, a writer calls it inspiration.

    • Loved your quote, Trent. Mind you, the difference between the writer and the author is the author also published those thoughts and share them with the outside world. Blogger also does the same thing.

      • Me too! That said, I did write a book with my son today. I was cleaning up and found a CD I’d bought: “Knowledge Adventure books by you: Create and publish your own books”. It’s designed for kids and it’s a bit like one of those create your own adventure books. There’s a base text but the program asks you to name and add the details of characters and you build up a book with four chapters which has illustrations and you can save it to PDF. It was actually a great exercise because you were very conscious of all the components going in. It was like building a house. Very encouraging.

Leave a reply :-)

