3 Quotes – Edgar Allan Poe


Edgar_Allan_Poe

 

Edgar Allan Poe, American writer, editor, literary critic
(born: Edgar Poe)

born:
January 19, 1809 in Boston, Massachusetts, United States

died:
October 7, 1849 in Baltimore, Maryland, United States

 

With me poetry has not been a purpose, but a passion.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
I would define, in brief, the poetry of words as the rhythmical creation of Beauty.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
Science has not yet taught us if madness is or is not the sublimity of the intelligence.

 

Which is your favourite quote by Edgar Allan Poe?


35 thoughts on “3 Quotes – Edgar Allan Poe

  1. Such a fan of Poe. I have always admired #3. I just always questioned as to why our society has granted certain people to judge, with ‘certainty’, an individuals mental capability when we as a unified group do not understand half of our mental being… I don’t see why they have been given the right to do such a thing.

  2. Karen, rhymical beauty in words describes poetry marvelously. Thank you for sharing him. My favorite two short stories of Pie are “The Tell-tale Heart” and “The Cask of Amontillado.” I liked his short stories over his poetry. Smiles, Robin

    • You are welcome, Robin. πŸ™‚
      Interesting that you mention preferring his short stories – you are on to something important: I realised something similar with other authors/poets; liking either the stories or poems better…

      • Wikipedia shows this explanation:
        On October 3, 1849, Poe was found on the streets of Baltimore delirious, “in great distress, and… in need of immediate assistance”, according to the man who found him, Joseph W. Walker. He was taken to the Washington Medical College, where he died on Sunday, October 7, 1849, at 5:00 in the morning. Poe was never coherent long enough to explain how he came to be in his dire condition, and, oddly, was wearing clothes that were not his own. Poe is said to have repeatedly called out the name “Reynolds” on the night before his death, though it is unclear to whom he was referring. Some sources say Poe’s final words were “Lord help my poor soul.” All medical records, including his death certificate, have been lost.
        Quite intriguing, Ali.

    • Some knowledge is lost, then regained centuries later. I wouldn’t have thought that this applies to self-publication as well. Thank you for this information, Paula.

  3. Well did you know we have the Poe museum in Richmond va? Did U also know that one of my son’s elementary friends was from the Poe lineage – that was always fun to tease him – anyhow – the quotes you chose were God and the their was my fav – although most of his work is too dark (heavy maybe) for me – so he is not a personal fav

    • A Poe Museum in Richmond?! Awesome. I’ll have to check their website.
      The poor lad. πŸ˜‰
      Poe was occasionally called a goth. His ‘darkness’ is easier to handle than today’s terrorists, though.

      • Yes – I agree – and who can deny the intrigue of a telltale heart? Once heard a teacher won teacher of the year for her delivery of lit – she turned down the lights and pounded on the floor and students were riveted!
        And once saw part of a bio on Poe – interesting story – and we went into the museum once – but did not tour it – and we have passed it many times – it is in a cool part of town- and I like this cobblestone wall near the site

        http://www.poemuseum.org/visit.php

      • I just imagined the students… πŸ˜€
        Whenever I get in the area – I’ll make sure to visit this museum.
        Thank you very much for sharing the link!

  4. I like the second one the most, Karen, but they all seem so Poe-ish. I had no idea he died so young. I suppose that wasn’t uncommon two hundred years ago, but to think of all he might have written had he lived another 40 years…

Leave a reply :-)

