10 Statements – Eliza Green


Eliza Green small

Eliza Green tried her hand at fashion designing, massage, painting, and even ghost hunting, before finding her love of writing. She often wonders if her desire to change the ending of a particular glittery vampire story steered her in that direction (it did). After earning her degree in marketing, Eliza went on to work in everything but marketing, but swears she uses it in everyday life, or so she tells her bank manager.

Born and raised in Dublin, Ireland, she lives there with her sci-fi loving, evil genius boyfriend. When not working on her next amazing science fiction adventure, you can find her reading, indulging in new food at an amazing restaurant or simply singing along to something with a half decent beat.

Becoming Human, Altered Reality and Crimson Dawn make up the Exilon 5 series so far. Derailed Conscience is her interesting foray into psychological thrillers with a sci-fi twist.
 

Find me…

Website:  http://elizagreenbooks.com/

Facebook Fan Page:  https://www.facebook.com/elizagreenbooks

Twitter:  @elizagreenbooks

Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6859728.Eliza_Green

Pinterest:  https://www.pinterest.com/elizagreenbooks/

Books:  http://elizagreenbooks.com/books/

Amazon Author Page:  http://www.amazon.com/Eliza-Green/e/B00AOJRHH6/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_3?qid=1453404220&sr=8-3

Newsletter sign-up form:  http://smarturl.it/fmeuqq

 

My personal mottoes:

Life is short. Don’t waste it.

Care about things beyond your small world.

 

10 statements
  1. A typical work day begins with… my day job. Yes, I trudge through that until 6pm, then get to work in the evening doing the writerly things I love. I try to fit in a little writing first, then I prioritise emails. After that, I schedule what I need to do for the week. I don’t work out a daily schedule because I wouldn’t be able to keep to it. It depends on how tired I am in the evening as to what gets done. I make sure to sign off at 9pm so I can wind down properly before bed.
  2. I lose track of time… when I’m listening to music. When I want to concentrate on something I use a set of headphones to block out external noise. I work faster, more efficiently with some Zero 7 playing in the background! Before I know it an hour has vanished.
  3. I have always… loved science fiction. I grew up with a brother and sister at home so my television choices were mixed. My brother was always watching the action shows on television: the A-Team, MacGyver, Airwolf. I got into them as equally as I did the girlier shows like 90210. I didn’t consciously decide to like science fiction but when I watched Close Encounters of the Third Kind for the first time on television, it sent shivers up my then nine-year-old spine. I became obsessed with stories that explored ideas beyond the here and now. The Twilight Zone became a firm favourite.
  4. I have never… seen the Aurora Borealis. I would like to see that and maybe sleep in an ice hotel in Finland after plunging into a hot spring!
  5. Home means to me… a place where you can be yourself. My boyfriend of twelve years and I share a home. We are both independent people who value time alone as much as time together. We have the balance right and have a lot of fun. I never feel stressed being at home.
  6. I am inspired by… other writers who achieve the things I want to do. They remind me that success takes time and hard work. I’m not lacking in the latter, -but I am impatient so the time thing can be an issue.  😉
  7. I would like to meet… Christopher Nolan and ask him how he planned his ideas for movies like Inception and Memento. I really love clever, thought provoking ideas and he’s top of my list.
  8. My worst character trait… I obsess over everything being perfect and that makes it difficult to delegate work to someone else. And when I do, it usually comes with a lot of hand wringing in the background. Did I do the right thing? Maybe I’ll just take a quick peek to see if they got it right. But those fears disappear once I realise I’ve picked the right people to help me.
  9. My best character trait… My stubbornness. I don’t like people telling me I can’t do something. I ask them “why not?” As long as you’re not hurting yourself or others, it really doesn’t matter what other people think of your choices. It’s better to figure that stuff out for yourself.
  10. The best advice I was given… was from my father. He said “Don’t plan out your life.” I was in my mid twenties and I felt like I should know what the next five years looked like. Turns out he was right. Not planning removed the stress from my life. I came to writing later than most people. It was not a dream, or a calling. It just happened and I don’t regret a minute of it. What if I had been prescriptive about my career path? I might have ignored the nagging voice in my head saying: “Do something creative.”

 

Becoming Human small

Two worlds. Two species. One terrifying secret.

In 2163, a polluted and overcrowded Earth forces humans to search for a new home. But the exoplanet they target, Exilon 5, is occupied.

Having already begun a massive relocation programme, the World Government on Earth sends Bill Taggart to monitor the threat level of the Indigenes, the alien race that lives on Exilon 5. Bill is a man on the edge. He believes the Indigenes killed his wife, but he doesn’t know why. Until now.

Stephen has every reason to despise the humans and their attempts to colonise his planet. To protect his species from further harm, he must go against his very nature and become human.

Laura O’Halloran is losing her daily battle with Seasonal Affective Disorder. Her only chance at recovery is leaving the dark Earth for the sunnier climate of Exilon 5. She hopes her credentials as a World Government employee will secure her a one-way trip, but with the ever increasing relocation demand that is not a guarantee.

Her discovery of a deadly secret threatens her life and that of Bill and Stephen. A secret so great it could rip apart both worlds.

 



 

13 thoughts on “10 Statements – Eliza Green

  1. Pingback: Becoming Human (Exilon 5, #1) by Eliza Green – My train of thoughts on…

  2. “Don’t plan out your life.” That’s tremendous advice. Lovely to learn more about you, Eliza, and best of luck with the writing. Cheers.

Leave a reply :-)

