3 Quotes – Mary Shelley


EsaoandrewsYoungMaryShelleyJohathanLevine Gallery NYtumblr_l9ezgjWZ8R1qa24iao1_1280

 

Mary Shelley, English author
(born: Mary Wollstonecraft Godwin)

born:
August 30, 1797 in Somers Town, London, England

died:
February 1, 1851 in Chester Square, London, England

known for these books (among others):
Frankenstein, Valperga, The Last Man

 

What terrified me will terrify others; and I need only describe the spectre which had haunted my midnight pillow.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
Nothing contributes so much to tranquilize the mind as a steady purpose – a point on which the soul may fix its intellectual eye.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
My dreams were all my own; I accounted for them to nobody; they were my refuge when annoyed – my dearest pleasure when free.

 

Which is your favourite quote by Mary Shelley?


25 thoughts on “3 Quotes – Mary Shelley

  1. It was wonderful to read more about Mary Shelley and I liked all three quotes. I felt a little sad when I thought about what inspired those thoughts – just a vivid imagination or a mental health problem?

    • Thank you very much for the praise, Teri. If you like a (gothic) classic you won’t regret it. She was 21 when Frankenstein was published, had already found her own writer’s voice.

  2. “My dreams were all my own; I accounted for them to nobody; they were my refuge when annoyed – my dearest pleasure when free.” This would be a good mantra for a writer.

Leave a reply :-)

