3 Quotes – Alan Furst


Alan_Furst

 

Alan Furst, American author

born:
February 20, 1942 in New York City, USA

known for these books (among others):
Night Soldiers, Dark Star, The Polish Officer, The World at Night, Dark Voyage, The Foreign Correspondent, Mission to Paris

Website:Β  http://www.alanfurst.net/

 

The way I work: I pick a country. I learn the political history – I mean I really learn it; I read until it sinks in. Once I read the political history, I can project and find the clandestine history. And then I people it with the characters.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
I am there to entertain. I call my work high escape fiction; it’s high, it’s good – but it’s escape, and I have no delusions about that. I have no ambition to be a serious writer, whatever that means.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
I started out when I was 29 – too young to write novels. I was broke. I was on unemployment insurance. I was supposed to be writing a Ph.D. dissertation, so I had a typewriter and a lot of paper.

 

Which is your favourite quote by Alan Furst?


27 thoughts on “3 Quotes – Alan Furst

  1. I am there to entertain. I call my work high escape fiction; it’s high, it’s good – but it’s escape, and I have no delusions about that. I have no ambition to be a serious writer, whatever that means.
    I like this one, but they were all great.

  2. I like this one because I feel the same way. “I am there to entertain. I call my work high escape fiction; it’s high, it’s good – but it’s escape, and I have no delusions about that. I have no ambition to be a serious writer, whatever that means.”

  3. Karen, the last one touched my heart. New beginnings coming from where Alan Furst’s original place, writing a dissertation paper, to writing great books. This was inspirational. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you very much for your kind feedback, Robin. I considered it a great quote, am glad that you categorise it inspirational. πŸ™‚

Leave a reply :-)

