3 Quotes – Elizabeth George


Elizabeth_George_writer

 

Elizabeth George, American writer
(born: Susan Elizabeth George)

born:
February 26, 1949 in Warren, Ohio, USA

 

known for (among others):
…a series of novels featuring Inspector Thomas Lynley

Website:  http://elizabethgeorgeonline.com/

 

I have to know the killer, the victim and the motive when I begin. Then I start to create the characters and see how the novel takes shape based on what these people are like.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
I try to create a challenge for myself in each book. And sometimes, believe me, I just kick myself afterwards, and say, ‘Why on earth did you ever attempt this, you idiot!’ But I’m always better for the experience.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
Creating the characters is the most creative part of the novel except for the language itself. There I am, sitting in front of my computer in right-brain mode, typing the things that come to mind – which become the seeds of plot. It’s scary, though, because I always wonder: Is it going to be there this time?

 

Which is your favourite quote by Elizabeth George?


12 thoughts on “3 Quotes – Elizabeth George

  1. I love her mysteries. Isn’t it interesting how a number of prominent mystery writers set their stories in England? Martha Grimes, Louise Penny, Elizabeth George and others.

  2. “I try to create a challenge for myself in each book. And sometimes, believe me, I just kick myself afterwards, and say, ‘Why on earth did you ever attempt this, you idiot!’ But I’m always better for the experience.” I like this one cause she seems to be describing my situation

Leave a reply :-)

