10 Statements – E. A. A. Wilson / L. J. Oliver


Author photo

I yawned my way through a job in administration for twelve years until, like a lightning bolt, I realized I was a writer trapped in a bureaucrat’s body. I closed my eyes, held my breath and jumped in. Since then I’ve enjoyed many successes, including collaborating with a New York Times bestselling author, scoring a book deal with Simon & Schuster, publishing two novels, seeing my books on the shelves of real life bookstores, landing a job doing the narrative development for a new Nintendo 8-Bit fantasy game, starring in a documentary called “The New 8-Bit Heroes” and meeting and interviewing my hero, 41 times bestselling fantasy author Piers Anthony.

I credit my extraordinary transformation 100% to the Law of Attraction and the unfailing support of my husband Matt. I now teach these principles of success through coaching sessions, workshops, seminars and platform talks.

 

Find me…

My site:  http://www.eaawilson.com

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/EAAWilsonauthor/

Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/E.-A.-A.-Wilson/e/B00V0O1Q0I/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1452279920&sr=8-1

Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/13930915.E_A_A_Wilson

 

My personal motto:

It’ll all work out in the end.

 

10 statements
  1. A typical work day begins with… meditation. I’m just kidding, that’s just in my dreams. Actually I start the day trying to slither out of bed without waking anyone. The bed creaks and the blankets tangle, so the task demands a certain level of contortionism and wormlike suppleness. My limbs are normally pinned down by an enormous snoring man, a four-year-old girl, twelve stuffed animals, a four-month-old baby and a large cat, and yet every day I bravely writhe and wriggle like a snake escaping its skin. Failure is inevitable and disastrous. Chaos roars into life immediately and my idea of a quiet moment of reflection over a cup of tea evaporates and materializes instead as the frantic chasing of a naked child while ducking flying bombs of porridge, one hand holding onto the baby who’s attached to my left boob and the other hand rummaging in the dryer for that missing sock.
  2. I lose track of time in prayer. Like you, I have a certain place within, referred to as the higher self. Here is an image of perfection, serenity and authenticity, which is ever trying to express itself in greater ways. When I feel in any way less than myself (seventy-three times a day) I call on this higher self, and in this secret center of mine is a universe factory where stories are born. These stories are true, from my heart, and they call for me to write them. I have no idea how much time I spend in this wonderland, but my mum once told me that the greatest gift we’re been given is the power of daydreaming. Literally everything you see around you, all the clever inventions, stirring novels, beautiful architecture and powerful engineering, started off in someone’s imagination. So I sit in prayer a lot, and it works.
  3. I have always… had a relationship with some higher power, even though it took me 30 years to figure out what it was. In fact, I owe this awakening to writing my first book! Writing is a deeply spiritual practice that sometimes forces some pretty harsh introspection. I gained so much success so quickly that, after careful scrutiny, I put it down to the Law of Attraction. The phenomenon fascinated me so much that I dedicated the next few years to figuring out what it all meant. And here’s my conclusion: When we so often hear that “to succeed in publishing requires more luck than talent” we must examine what luck really means. I posit that luck is just the art of being available for opportunities to flow to you and the courage to act on them. I’ve seen miracles happen to “lucky” people who have mastered this craft.
  4. I have never… understood why all crayons can’t be as good as Crayola. Honestly, the difference is like a giant rainbow colored chasm.
  5. Home means to me… that quiet, sacred space inside where I can really be myself. Not even the myself that I am on the outside, but the eternal being that has no fear or concern for the noise outside.
  6. I am inspired by… my husband. He has taught me the art of confidence, and the value of forgiving myself for the things I’m not and praising myself for the things I am. He’s my beacon of light in a very foggy swampscape.
  7. I would like to meet…  a new mentor. When I first started writing I reached out and asked for some guidance and out of the blue a New York Times bestselling author, Scott Ciencin volunteered. He read my samples and asked if I’d collaborate with him on a cool idea he had: Ebenezer Scrooge as a reluctant detective. We became the writing duo known as L. J. Oliver. Three years later our first novel together, The Humbug Murders (Simon&Schuster 2015) was published across the world and hitting some incredible sales figures…but Scott missed it. He died suddenly in August 2014 before the book was even finished. One of the hardest things I ever had to do was carry on without him, he was truly one of the kindest, deepest gentlemen I ever met. It’s hard to admit to myself but I think I’m ready for a new mentor now. I don’t know if anyone will live up to Scott, but I suspect he’s somewhere beyond the veil lining up some cool people to help me grow.
  8. My worst character trait… is also my greatest magic trick. I can pick up a set of keys, or my mobile phone, or some sunglasses or wallet or [insert anything super important], then blink twice, and have absolutely no idea where they’ve gone. Half an hour of frantic searching later and I’ll find them behind a jar of pickles in the fridge.
  9. My best character trait… is the same one I share with everyone. Deep inside I’m truly trying to figure this life thing out. For all my flaws and foibles, I’m giving it my honest punt. And really, blessed are the ones who try to find themselves in any which way at all.
  10. The best advice I was given… From my father: “There is never a problem that can’t be solved”. And from my mother: “It’ll all work itself out in the end.”

 

A hilarious tale of mystery, adventure and the search for freedom in a complex and fascinating afterlife, where angels and humans struggle to navigate their own weaknesses.

Purgatory is in trouble. In a bureaucratic Astral existence where science, theology and utter confusion are entwined, something is preventing the dead from ascending. Following her own untimely death by house fire, Alice Shepherd has found herself a nice, sensible job as an administrator at the Office of Transition, where she can work to earn enough virtue to finally rest in peace.

But when the power-hungry Mayor Jagger T. Fleisch demands she conceals obvious corruption, Alice takes action to set things straight. This could be her one chance to redeem herself from an awful secret, still burning in her gut like steely battery acid.

Can Alice unclog a corrupt system before the streets are overrun by dead people? And what happens when two drunk guardian angels accidentally open the doors to Hell?

 

humbug_murders front cover

Ebenezer Scrooge from Charles Dickens’s A Christmas Carol investigates a shocking murder—before he becomes the next victim—in this playful mystery in a new series from a New York Times bestselling author.

Scrooge considers himself a rational man with a keen sense of deductive reasoning developed from years of business dealings. But that changes one night when he’s visited by the ghost of his former boss and friend, Fezziwig, who mysteriously warns him that three more will die, and ultimately Ebenezer himself—if he doesn’t get to the bottom of a vast conspiracy.

When he wakes the next day, Scrooge discovers that not only is Fezziwig dead, but he’s under arrest as all evidence points toward himself: Scrooge’s calling card was found in the cold, dead hand of Fezziwig’s body, and someone scribbled “HUMBUG” in blood on the floor nearby.

Now, Scrooge must race against the pocket watch to clear his name, protect his interests, and find out who killed his last true friend—before the “Humbug Killer” strikes again. Joining Scrooge in his adventures is a spunky sidekick named Adelaide, who matches his wits at every turn, plus the Artful Dodger, Fagin, Belle, Pickwick, and even Charles Dickens himself as a reporter dealing in the lurid details of London’s alleyway crimes.

Full of action and wry humor, The Humbug Murders is a fun take on a classic character—Scrooge as you’ve never seen him before.

 

 

10 thoughts on “10 Statements – E. A. A. Wilson / L. J. Oliver

  1. Thank you so much for this. Sorry to hear about the loss of your mentor. That must have been awful and reminds me a bit of Larsen who wrote “The Girl With the Dragon Tatoo”.
    I appreciate your personal motto. I hope it’s correct! xx Rowena

  2. Good luck on the new mentor E.A.A. I’m sure there will be one out there who would be thrilled to have you as a mentee. (not manatee autocorrect), Enjoyed the ten statements. I looked in behind the pickles and found my keys that I lost two weeks ago. Thank you so much.

Leave a reply :-)

