Linked: Everything you know is a lie (Cage of Lies, #2) by Susanne Valenti


Cage_of_Lies_2

The author sent me a copy of this book (epub format) in exchange for an honest review.

My rating:  4.3  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

In a world she never knew existed, Maya is coming to terms with how much her life has changed. Danger lurks around every corner, nothing is as she expects and she’s never felt so alive. But the choices she makes could change everything and jeopardise the things she cherishes most. There is so much to learn and so much to love but her heart is pulling her back. The Guardians are hiding in the shadow cast by their Wall, concealing the truth from the people inside. It’s a shadow that darkens her happiness and she can’t stop fighting until the truth comes to light. It would be easier to walk away but Maya has never run from anything and she’s not about to start now.

 

Genre:  Science Fiction, Young Adult, Dystopian

Series:  Cage of Lies, #2

Length:  335 pages

Release Date:  2015-10-o15

 

Teaser


“I can’t take this much longer. I’ll go without his intel soon if I have to,” I snapped.

My anger at how long it was taking him to hack into the city databases was always ready to bubble over at the slightest provocation.


 

My Opinion

The book continues Maya’s endeavour to free her parents, her training continues; she and Taylor need all the fighter training they can get. I will not tell you more about the story than shown in the Goodreads plot description. This would spoil the fun of reading this book yourself.

With Linked, Susanne Valenti has created a compelling and cleverly elaborated second book in the Cage of Lies series. Maya and her friends/allies have to face many obstacles, the ‘friend-or-foe’ decisions inside my head were pretty intriguing. I was drawn into the story right away – as a silent (thankfully invisible) ally. Susanne Valenti tells the story in a clever way – giving the reader the opportunity to be very close; she expertly elaborates her characters. As the story proceeds you learn more about the old and new protagonists and the world they live in. There are some real surprises, finding their way nicely into your perception of the story. I had a great time, reading Linked.

This is a book for you if you appreciate a pretty different combination of the science-fiction, young adult and dystopian genres. It is not hard-core science fiction.

A book to read again. Recommended!

Writing Great
Plot Full of surprises
Mood Suspenseful
Pace Steady (fast)
Characters Developed
Violence Some violence
Sexual content No sexual content (some more hints)
POV First person

 

About the author

I’m a dystopian / sci fi author (that’s the dream anyway) but my day job is a little less creative and a has a bit more catitude. That’s right, I made a terrible cat pun 😸. I work with my family running a boarding cattery (that’s a hotel for cats) and we also help some lovely rescue kitties while they look for their new homes.

I have a little sister who is similar to me in pretty much every way; we look alike, talk alike, love the same things, hate the same things with the same insane passion and are even both aspiring authors! 👯

I met my husband when I was seventeen. We have been together for ten years which is long enough for me to find out that he’s the most infuriating man I’ll ever meet and to learn what true love really is. I am insanely lucky to have him next to me in everything I do even if we never look at anything in quite the same way.

 

Connect with the Author:

 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Linked?  Or – if you did not yet read Linked – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If Linked was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

12 thoughts on “Linked: Everything you know is a lie (Cage of Lies, #2) by Susanne Valenti

  1. Pingback: Bound: Everything you know is a lie (Cage of Lies, #4) by Susanne Valenti – My train of thoughts on…

    • Thank you so much, Dena. You might want to start with ‘Chained’ to get the whole picture regarding Maya, Taylor, Coal and the others. 🙂
      The third book in the series is one of my next reads/reviews and – I am really looking forward to this ‘task’.

      • The third book of this trilogy was published on 2016-01-31. The trilogy is currently $8.97 @ Amazon.com.
        As there happens a lot, it is a wise decision to read them one after another. As I have to read three other books in between – I will have to scan through the second book before taking on #3. 🙂

      • Oh good. I’m not the only one who can’t recall all the details. I’ve started some fantastic series that weren’t yet complete, and while waiting years for the next book, I even forget the characters’ names. 😦

      • It just means waiting until I can gobble them down in one helping – not a terrible thing at all. I get completely swept up in the story and don’t need to come up for air 🙂

      • Please note: I was just offered #4… It will be published next week.
        I apologise for the previous misinformation, Dena.

Leave a reply :-)

