3 Quotes – Anne McCaffrey


Anne_McCaffrey

 

Anne McCaffrey, American-born Irish writer
(born: Anne Inez McCaffrey)

born:
April 1, 1926 in Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

died:
November 21, 2011, in Dragonhold-Underhill, County Wicklow, Ireland

Website: ย http://pernhome.com/aim/

 

I would recommend the short story form, which is a lot harder to write since you have to be so careful with words, until there is plenty of time to doodle through a novel.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
I think writers need windows on a view to remind them that a whole world is out there, not the minutiae with which they might be dealing on a close scale.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
The thing is, emotion – if it’s visibly felt by the writer – will go through all the processes it takes to publish a story and still hit the reader right in the gut. But you have to really mean it.

 

Which is your favourite quote by Anne McCaffrey?


23 thoughts on “3 Quotes – Anne McCaffrey

  1. Oh… I didn’t know that she was dead, or that she lived in Ireland. I used to love her books, may have to reread one for old times sake and as a mark of respect. And I agree with the first quote.

    • She seemed to enjoy living in Ireland a great deal, Ali. The first quote describes my situation – presumably it applies to many other writers as well…
      I must admit that I haven’t read any of her books yet. My bad. I already added them to my TBR list.

  2. I Love Quote #3. I think writers have to dig deep when living their characters. It translates and makes the reader care. I want readers to laugh, smile, gasp, and cry. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I would recommend the short story form, which is a lot harder to write since you have to be so careful with words, until there is plenty of time to doodle through a novel. I found this quote to be so true since I write a lot of short stories.

  4. These are all excellent; I can relate to each quote. But if I had to pick one, I’d say #3. Because even when I read something I wrote long ago, I can still experience the emotions I felt that day. And that, in my opinion, is one of most magical elements of writing.

  5. The first one resonates with me because one of my critique group members in my SF group left the group as she decided she didn’t like to write short stories anymore and would focus on novels only…but the rest of us in the group think knowing how to write shorts is a useful skill to have. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I like the first quote a lot, Teresa. It perfectly applies to my situation. I do not have the time for writing full length novels; I write flash fiction series and short stories. Considering that I abhorred short stories, this is a huge step. It is pretty hard to find the right words – I couldn’t agree more. ๐Ÿ™‚
      It is a pity that one of your CG members did not see the opportunity to strengthen her skill-set more.

      • It is a shame. She is a fine writer and wrote terrific shorts but ultimately decided she hated to write them. I’m glad you’ve grown to embrace shorts and flash pieces!

      • Throughout the past 4 years I had the opportunity to read some great short stories, inspiring me to write some as well. I was pretty nervous, when hitting the publish button on my other blog for the first time. I soon realised that if at least one reader liked the story – I had achieved my goal.

Leave a reply :-)

