Uncertain Love by Margaret Lynette Sharp


Uncertain_Love

 

The author sent me a copy of this book (mobi format) in exchange for an honest review.

My rating:  4  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

Twenty-one-year-old Amanda thinks that she and Kevin, a guy from the right side of town, are falling in love. Doubts creep in, though – doubts that threaten to undermine her self-esteem, her contentment, and their fledgling love. Will their relationship survive her meeting with members of Kevin’s well-to-do, snobbish family? Or will fate contrive to offer her a different, wholly unforeseeable pathway?

Set in Sydney, Australia, during the 1950’s, this story by award-winning author Margaret Lynette Sharp offers an engaging read for lovers of sweet romance.

 

Genre:  Romance, New Adult

Series:  n.a.

Length:  111 pages

Release date:  February 8, 2016

 

Teaser


What had seemed to me to be ample time disappeared as my thoughts returned time and time again to Kevin and the girl…Who was she? No-one of my acquaintance…

As I alighted from the bus in Phillip Street, I forced myself to smile. Why spoil the time with Sally, who was, above all else, a loyal friend…


 

My Opinion

This book introduces you to Amanda, in love with Kevin until her confidence shatters when seeing him with another girl.

With Uncertain Love, Margaret Lynette Sharp provides us with a romantic novella about a young woman and her insecurity. Once again, the readers find themselves in Australia of the 1950s, including the mindsets of that era. Romance is not my typical genre, therefore I really like that this novella is not a hard-core romance. The story ‘has soul’ and gives a good insight in Amanda’s feelings. The story is touching, makes the readers remember their feelings they had at that age. I automatically tried to cheer Amanda on; she is a very likeable character. The characters are real enough to be family members, friends or acquaintances. I had a good time reading Uncertain Love.

In brief:

Writing Good
Plot Predictable with some twists
Mood Light-hearted
Pace Steady
Characters Developed
Violence No violence
Sexual content No sexual content
POV First person

 

About the author

Margaret Lynette Sharp spent her early years in an inner city suburb of Sydney, moving with her family to a leafy, outer suburb at the age of ten.

A self-motivated student who loved to seek out information, she matriculated just before her eighteenth birthday. Her enthusiasm for literature led to further studies, with a particular focus on Short Story Writing.

Shortly after the death of her elderly mother whom she cared for, Margaret met and later married Ronald Sharp B.E.M., the creator of the Sydney Opera House Grand Organ. She believes that, without doubt, he is her greatest fan and motivator.

Excelling in English himself, Ron has edited her work.

To date, Margaret has eleven titles available.

Connect with the Author:

Website:  http://margaretlynettesharp.wordpress.com/
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/MargaretLynett1
Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5753963.Margaret_Lynette_Sharp

Buy Link:

Amazon.com

 


 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Uncertain Love?  Or – if you did not yet read Uncertain Love – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If Uncertain Love was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

12 thoughts on “Uncertain Love by Margaret Lynette Sharp

  1. Thanks so much, Karen! Glad you liked ‘Uncertain Love’. By the way, I should have updated my author profile. Some of my later works have been edited by a person other than my husband, and the total number of titles is now seventeen.

Leave a reply :-)

