Not Really Gone by Blaire Sharpe


Not_Really_Gone

The author sent me a copy of this book (epub format) in exchange for an honest review.

My rating:  5  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

In every family there is a rock—the person that keeps things together. In Blaire Sharpe’s family, that rock was her grandma. As she shares the inspiring story of her relationship with her grandma, Blaire expands on the notion of what it really means to be loved. When she was just an infant, Blaire’s troubled parents divorced. Since both parents were incapable of raising Blaire and her siblings, the children were slated for foster care—until their grandmother, Eleanor, stepped in to raise them as her own. As Eleanor valiantly struggled against a family legacy of alcoholism and depression, she modeled strength and wisdom to endure the most challenging of times. Still, Blaire’s life was not perfect. As she matured into adulthood, she battled addictions that eventually led her into recovery, just as Eleanor’s health began to decline. When she found herself sandwiched between two generations, each increasingly needy, Blaire poignantly reveals how she discovered the true meaning of love and commitment, and the essence of what it means to be a mother. Not Really Gone is the story about the undying love a grandmother gave her granddaughter—a love that inspired her to carry on and become the rock in her own family.

 

Genre:  Memoir

Series:  n.a.

Length:  276 pages

Release date:  2015-05-15

 

Teaser


Exhale. And there it was: the first glimpse of the end, the first moment I considered Grandma’s death as a real possibility. Not yet. I’m not ready. Grandma was my anchor. She loved and believed in me in ways I could not do for myself. I could not foresee a world without her in it.


My Opinion

This book leads us directly into the lives of Blaire Sharpe and her Grandma.

With Not Really Gone, Blaire Sharpe has created an unforgettable memoir of her life and the relationship with her Grandma. The memoir is told in honesty, comprising all ups and downs and beautifully portraying two remarkable women. It is a compelling read, I was drawn close to Blaire and her feelings – so close that I shed more than one tear. This memoir shows courage and compassion, it is obvious how much Blaire cares. Not Really Gone is a remarkable memoir, Blaire Sharpe’s storytelling is of a subtle intensity that lingers on in my mind.

This is a book for you if you are interested in memoirs – told in honesty and with an incredible intensity and with a great flow.

Highly recommended!

In brief:

Writing Great
Plot n.a.
Mood Hopeful
Pace Steady
Characters Complex
Violence No violence
Sexual content Some sexual content
POV First person

 

About the author

I live in a suburb of Detroit with my husband, three children, and two dogs.

I hold masters degrees in Business and Mental Health Counseling. I specialize in working with adults suffering from mood disorders and survivors of domestic violence and sexual abuse.

My three children are the Universe’s greatest gift to me. They are each special in their own way. They have taught me so much about myself, life, love and commitment. For them I am eternally grateful.

 

Connect with the author:

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Not Really Gone?  Or – if you did not yet read Not Really Gone – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

 

7 thoughts on “Not Really Gone by Blaire Sharpe

  1. Pingback: 10 Statements – Blaire Sharpe – My train of thoughts on…

  2. I don’t normally read memoirs but based on your review I think I will need to pick this one up. The story sounds like one that could be beneficial for everyone to experience. Thanks, Karen for the review.

    • Thank you very much for your kind feedback, John. I am not a memoir reader by nature, read them occasionally. Having read Not Really Gone, I cannot thank Blaire Sharpe enough for having written it.

Leave a reply :-)

