3 Quotes – Brendan O’Carroll


Brendan_OCarroll

Brendan O’Carroll, Irish actor, comedian, producer

born:
September 15, 1955 in Finglas, Dublin, Ireland

known for (among others):
Mrs Brown’s Boys

 

If you are writing comedy and try to please everybody, you’ll please nobody.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
I can only write what makes me laugh, and what makes me laugh is the comedy I grew up on.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
Anyone who thinks they can write the perfect comedy that everyone will love is a fool. I can only write what I think is funny and hope that there is a likeminded audience out there.

 

Which is your favourite quote by Brendan O’Carroll?  🙂


25 thoughts on “3 Quotes – Brendan O’Carroll

  1. Three great quote, Karen. I think with writing it is so important to write what you love, whatever the genre and hope to carry some people along with you. Whatever you do it is impossible to please everyone all of the time!

    • Thank you very much, Annika.
      I couldn’t agree more; we need to mean it, if we don’t – our stories don’t have soul.
      “If at least one reader likes my writing, I have achieved my goal.”

  2. The three quotes have the same meaning, but the one that I lean more to is the second one. We are the sum of what we write, from our experiences

  3. We have to start with familiar ground when we write whatever genre we choose. Comedy is really a personal thing, like minded people will be attracted to what they have been raised on. I am sad since my Dad liked Bill Cosby with stories about his brother and neighborhood. 🙂

  4. I like the first quote the most because this shows his nice focus and how true that we cannot reach every audience. I look forward to someday reading his comedy for myself – comedy is so important!

Leave a reply :-)

