3 Quotes – Janet Evanovich


Janet_Evanovich

 

Janet Evanovich, American novelist
(born: Janet Schneider;
2nd pen name:  Steffie Hall)

born:
April 22, 1943 in South River, New Jersey, USA

known for (among others):
Stephanie Plum series, Wicked series

web site:  http://www.evanovich.com/

 

I took all of my rejection letters – there must have been thousands of them in a huge box – and I went out on the curb and burned them all, crying.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
I take in a lot of stuff from real life, movies, television, news and it all gets mixed in my head and somehow turns into a story idea.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
Somewhere along the line, I realized that I liked telling stories, and I decided that I would try writing. Ten years later, I finally got a book published. It was hard. I had no skills. I knew nothing about the business of getting published. So I had to keep working at it.

 

Which is your favourite quote by Janet Evanovich?  🙂


29 thoughts on “3 Quotes – Janet Evanovich

  1. “Here’s a basic difference between Morelli and me. My first thought was always of cake. His first thought was always of sex. Don’t get me wrong. I like sex . . . a lot. But it’s never going to replace cake.”
    I like the fact that Evanovich makes Stefanie’s life values about cake. And her life is mostly a disaster, but it still worth it because cake. Evanovich gets how to make the basic foolishness of life real in the utterly unreal stories that she cooks up.

  2. Burning all those rejections letters must have felt cathartic. Phew! I like the third one too. I don’t think the average person knows how much time and energy goes into a book. It’s stunning. Great post, Karen.

  3. “Somewhere along the line, I realized that I liked telling stories, and I decided that I would try writing. Ten years later, I finally got a book published. It was hard. I had no skills. I knew nothing about the business of getting published. So I had to keep working at it.” This seems so realistic and can be said for a lot of us.

Leave a reply :-)

