3 Quotes – Sue Grafton


220px-SueGrafton

 

Sue Grafton, American novelist
(born: Sue Taylor Grafton)

born:
April 24, 1940 in Louisville, Kentucky, USA

known for:
The Alphabet Series – Kinsey Millhone

web site:  http://suegrafton.com/

 

 

I started writing seriously when I was 18, wrote my first novel when I was 22, and I’ve never stopped writing since.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
I spent the first twenty years of my writing career preparing for the mystery genre, which is my favorite literary form.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
I focus on the writing and let the rest of the process take care of itself. I’ve learned to trust my own instincts and I’ve also learned to take risks.

 

Which is your favourite quote by Sue Grafton?  🙂


34 thoughts on “3 Quotes – Sue Grafton

  1. I like them all, Karen – always fascinating to learn about thoughts from other writers. The third is particularly striking as I feel it is so vital to dare to trust your instincts and take risks from time to time!

    • Thank you very much, Annika.
      This is one of the reasons for my quotes research. It is nice to know that we have trains of thoughts in common and/or are simply inspired by others’ take on things.

  2. I can’t say I favour a quote Karen but you do remind me that I only got about as far as P in the series need need to get the rest. I liked Kinsey Milhone.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    • You seem to like all three, David. 🙂
      I got as far as Q – R, S, T and U being on my TBR pile. Kinsey, Henry, Rosie – great characters – one day I’ll hopefully state I’ve read them all (until Z!). Hugs

  3. Gah! I’m so envious of people who started writing at a young age! (It’s wonderful and I’m not really mad, but I wish I had known then what I know now!) Sigh. Thanks for the quotes, Karen. They’re always enjoyable – Diana.

    • Thank you very much for the praise, Diana. Some start writing early, do something completely different for 20+ years and then get the writing going. Things usually happen for a reason…

  4. Karen, I like her second one because I wonder what she did while preparing for 20 years in the mystery field? 🙂 Was she a security guard, a student doing research or following and spying on neighbors?

    • Interesting question, Robin. My first instinct was that she tried to find her own voice, inching toward ‘her’ kind of mystery – perhaps by getting to know some detecting skills. 🙂

  5. “I started writing seriously when I was 18, wrote my first novel when I was 22, and I’ve never stopped writing since.” Shows writing is not an overnight situation.

Leave a reply :-)

