3 Quotes – Patricia Briggs


Patricia_Briggs

 

 

Patricia Briggs, American novelist

born:
1965 in Butte, Montana, USA

known for (among others):
Mercy Thompson series, Alpha and Omega series

web site:  http://patriciabriggs.com/

 

For the traditional fantasies, a lot more of my research comes from reading rather than doing. I like my worlds to feel real, so I do a lot of world building research.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
Read good books. Read bad books – and figure out why you don’t like them. Then don’t do it when you write. If you are a science fiction or fantasy writer, going to conventions and attending panels is very useful.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
The cool thing about writing is that there is really never a typical day. Sometimes I get a rhythm going and head off to work every morning and come home at night. Sometimes I’ll write for two days straight and then be utterly blank for the next two.

 

Which is your favourite quote by Patricia Briggs?  🙂


17 thoughts on “3 Quotes – Patricia Briggs

  1. I absolutely love her books. I agree, reading bad books can be just as helpful as good books. If not for reading one particularly awful book, I might have not convinced myself to give publishing (and not just writing) a try for myself.

  2. “The cool thing about writing is that there is really never a typical day. Sometimes I get a rhythm going and head off to work every morning and come home at night. Sometimes I’ll write for two days straight and then be utterly blank for the next two.” I like the non-typical day aspect. I never skip a day f writing.

    • I would love to have the possibility of writing daily, John. It is awesome that you have the opportunity to write every day; sometimes, everyday life just gets in my (writing) way.

      • I know. I worked for ten years on my first book (sits in printed manuscript form holding the laundry room door open) while working full time. Just couldn’t do it.

Leave a reply :-)

