My GRL (John J. Cannon Series, #1) by John W. Howell


My GRL_johnwhowell

The author sent me a copy (mobi format) in exchange for an honest review.

My rating:  5  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

My GRL is the story of John J. Cannon, successful San Francisco lawyer, who takes a well-deserved leave of absence from his firm. He travels to a small Texas fishing town and buys a boat, unaware that his new purchase, renamed My GRL, had already been targeted by a terrorist group. John’s first inkling of a problem is when he wakes up in the hospital. He learns he was found unconscious next to the dead body of the attractive young woman who sold him the boat in the first place. John now stands between the terrorists and the success of their mission.

 

Genre(s):  Mystery, Thriller

Series:  John J. Cannon Series, #1

Length:  226 pages

Release Date:  2014-01-11

 

Teaser


It was a 2002 sixty-five-foot Hatteras Convertible Sport Fisher. Since I had designs on starting a charter business I needed to consider a boat which had well rounded functionality. The Hatteras seemed to fit the bill. It would be serviceable as a charter craft for fishing and could also function as a pleasure boat…

“The owner of the boat is anxious to sell and just cut the price,” she said.

Of course he is anxious, the doubting voice inside me cried to be heard. He wants to unload the barge before it slips below the surface…


 

My Opinion

This book introduces you to John J. Cannon, lawyer on leave, owner of an impressive boat. The woman who sold it to him is killed right beside him – the beginning of a series of troubling events.

With My GRL, John W. Howell has created a steady-paced thriller with a quite normal protagonist. I automatically fell in love with the boat and really liked her owner. The story comprises a variety of craftily elaborated characters with sufficient depth and interesting interactions until the final page. I had a great time reading My GRL – it is a very intriguing read; it turned me into an invisible ally of the believable protagonist. I was drawn into the story right away, cheering John on. In these days, some of the situations make you think; similar stuff might happen.

I am looking forward to reading more of this series.

This is for you if you like steady-paced thrillers, interesting characters, series and – in this case – boats.

A compelling read in a series to watch out for.

Highly recommended!

In brief:

Writing Great
Plot Full of surprises
Mood Suspenseful
Pace Steady
Characters Developed
Violence Some violence
Sexual content No sexual content
POV First person

 

About the author

John’s main interests are reading and writing. He turned to writing as a full-time occupation after an extensive career in business. John writes thriller fiction novels and has a number of short stories published in various on-line magazines. One of his short stories has been recognized by Writers Digest in the Popular Fiction Writing contest. His novel, My GRL published by Martin Sisters Publishing and is the first of many exciting adventures of the book’s central character John J. Cannon. The second, His Revenge published by Keewaydin Lane Books is now available in Paperback and Kindle formats.

John lives on Mustang Island in the Gulf of Mexico off the coast of south Texas with his wife and their spoiled rescue pets.

 

Connect with the Author:

 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you? What did you think about My GRL? Or – if you did not yet read My GRL – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If My GRL was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

Karen_RBRT

 

 

34 thoughts on “My GRL (John J. Cannon Series, #1) by John W. Howell

  1. Pingback: Our Justice (John J. Cannon Series, #3) by John W. Howell – My train of thoughts on…

  2. Pingback: His Revenge (John J. Cannon Series, #2) by John W. Howell – My train of thoughts on…

  3. This was the first thriller I’ve read that had such a lovable protagonist. John Cannon and John Howell are both all-around good guys. I’m going to make time for “His Revenge” real soon.

    • The praise for My GRL is well deserved, it is a steady-paced thriller with a normal protagonist – I love that. 🙂
      It is a shame that it took me so long to finally read this book – sometimes life just gets in the way…

      • This is impressive!
        Except the books (with a deadline) I have to read – there are only about 500 more books in my racks, on my Kindle and on my Tolino, patiently waiting for their turn.

  4. Reblogged this on Fiction Favorites and commented:
    Karen Oberlaender has a wonderful blog about books and other interesting things. She is a member of Rosie’s Book Review Team and as she describes herself, “A confessing book addict.” Her blog is worth a visit not just because she has posted a lovely review of My GRL, but because there is a ton of good things to read. Thank you, Karen.

  5. Karen, Thank you so much for the review of My GRL. I am very pleased you chose to read and review given your awesome workload. I am also pleased you enjoyed it. Thank you again.

Leave a reply :-)

