The Alchemy of Reality by Andy Echevarria


The_Alchemy_of_Reality

The author sent me an ARC (mobi format) in exchange for an honest review.

My rating:  4.3  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

Join us on the ride through a kaleidoscope of mystery and intrigue. In these ten tales of suspense, the lines between fact and reality blur, challenging one’s notions of everyday life. Eerie, poignant, and at times inspiring, this collection of never-before-seen stories will transport you to a world where the supernatural abounds alongside the banal, and nothing is what it seems…

The stories: Taxi, Crystal Ball, The Magician, Dead Asleep, Do not Trespass, Black Eagle, Elevator, The Thirteenth Floor, The Bronx is Burning, Wunderkind

 

Genre(s):  Suspense, Supernatural

Series:  n.a.

Length:  213 pages

Release date:  2016-01-04

 

Teaser


He again opened his book bag. Much to his surprise, he saw the crystal ball in there.

He flinched; he was more afraid than surprised. Just moments ago, the ball wasn’t in there.


My Opinion

This anthology comprises ten different stories, taking you on twelve very different trips; some will chill you, some will make you sad, others will make you wonder. There is one thing that they all have in common: They are unforgettable. I cannot tell you more about this anthology as it would spoil the fun of reading it yourself.

With The Alchemy of Reality, Andy Echevarria presents us with ten little gems. Each story is skilfully elaborated, has its own flow. Andy Echevarria created every story with care: the characters and the situations they find themselves in are realistic, a touch of the supernatural complements the stories nicely. I was drawn into most stories right away. I could easily envision the characters and locations. I had a great time reading The Alchemy of Reality. It is a very enjoyable read. This is for you if you like stories with a supernatural streak, unusual characters, surprises, and food for thought – all packed in short stories. [Welcome to the Twilight Zone.]

This is a book to read again. Recommended.

In brief:

Writing Great
Plot Full of surprises
Mood Suspenseful; Hopeful; Dark; Thoughtful
Pace Steady
Characters Developed
Violence Some violence
Sexual content No sexual content
POV Alternating persons

 

About the author

My work has been featured with The Horror Zine, SNM, and Aphelion, among other publications and e-zines, and in various anthologies. My main interest as a writer is in the horror and thriller genre, though I am a huge fan of humor, and some of my stories often have comedic elements. When I’m not writing, I enjoy old-time radio plays, nature, as well as exploring the nooks and crannies of the many diverse neighborhoods of my native–born and raised–New York City.

 

Connect with the Author:

Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5167836.Andy_Echevarria

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/AndyEchevarria

Amazon:  Andy Echevarria

Amazon:  buy link


Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about The Alchemy of Reality?  Or – if you did not yet read The Alchemy of Reality – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If The Alchemy of Reality stories were filmed – who should direct them, who could you imagine as actors? Which of these stories would be your favourite on screen?

 

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

7 thoughts on “The Alchemy of Reality by Andy Echevarria

  1. Pingback: 10 Statements – Andy Echevarria – My train of thoughts on…

  2. It’s difficult to sell short story anthology but with such a great review here I think you’ve helped to make that a lot easier – very tempted and will look closer. I do like your in brief table – so easy to read and excellent summary.

    • Thank you very much for the praise, Annika.
      It is not easy to review short story anthologies; often you love some stories and detest others. In this case I appreciate the darker aspects; the type of the stories reminded me of The Twilight Zone (I loved that show).

Leave a reply :-)

