10 Statements – Intisar Khanani


Khanani_Author_Photo - for reveal

Intisar Khanani grew up a nomad and world traveler. She has lived in five different states as well as in Jeddah on the coast of the Red Sea. Until recently, Intisar wrote grants and developed projects to address community health with the Cincinnati Health Department, which was as close as she could get to saving the world. Now she focuses her time on her two passions: raising her family and writing fantasy. Intisar’s current projects include a companion trilogy to her debut novel, Thorn, featuring the heroine introduced in her free short story The Bone Knife, and The Sunbolt Chronicles.

 

Find me…

Website:  http://booksbyintisar.com
Goodreads:  http://www.goodreads.com/intisar_Khanani
Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/booksbyintisar
Twitter:  http://twitter.com/BooksByIntisar
Amazon:  Intisar Khanani

 

My personal motto:

I don’t have one particular motto—or at least, I don’t think of having mottos. I certainly find myself thinking “This too shall pass,” when I find myself frustrated with something, and generally I try to “Do unto others…” but I haven’t embraced these as mottos per se. I am sure there are many other principles / approaches I’ve internalized that come out through the day as well!

 

10 statements
  1. A typical work day begins with… the kids going to bed! Or I suppose you could say I have two work days: the daylight hours, when I’m a stay at home mom who takes a hybrid homeschooling approach with my kids, and the night time hours, when I’m a writer. Once the kids are in bed, I head straight for my laptop and get to work!
  2. I lose track of time when I’m reading a really good book. Y’all know what I mean: it’s that glance at the clock at midnight, and then a few pages later, it’s 12:45 am, and you figure you’ll just get to the end of the chapter, and then it’s almost 2 am—and you have to be awake with the kids but it is so worth it.
  3. I have always… done my best to scrape the burnt part of my toast? Wanted to be a writer? Lived and breathed stories? This is a tough one… but all of the above are true! (I think. I may have given up on a burnt toast prematurely a few times.)
  4. I have never… tried coffee. I know, I probably don’t qualify as human. I like the smell of it, and I have had (chocolate covered) coffee beans (no thanks!), but I’ve never actually taken a sip of coffee. I’m not even tempted.
  5. Home means to me… a place where I can relax at night, and have my family around. I’ve traveled so much, though, that I’ve been known to refer to our current hotel room as “home”.
  6. I am inspired by… the amazing writers in my life—friends and acquaintances who bring stories to life word by laborious word. Together they create a community that continues to keep me upbeat and writing, night after night.
  7. I would like to meet…  Jane Austen. Sadly, I don’t think that’s going to happen.
  8. My worst character trait… is that I snap at others when I get stressed out. Unfortunately, I tend to get stressed out regularly, so this is definitely something I need to work on!
  9. My best character trait… is unknown. My husband says he doesn’t know where to start. I’m pretty sure that’s not a good sign. (Now he says I’m very caring. I think he’s grasping at straws…)
  10. The best advice I was given… was to jump on the indie publishing bandwagon (or so says my husband, the giver of said advice). Actually, that was definitely some of the best advice I’ve been given, as it’s been a great choice for me and I’ve loved it generally. But I’m sure I’ve been given some good life advice as well…

Sunbolt_

Sunbolt (The Sunbolt Chronicles, Book 1)

The winding streets and narrow alleys of Karolene hide many secrets, and Hitomi is one of them. Orphaned at a young age, Hitomi has learned to hide her magical aptitude and who her parents really were. Most of all, she must conceal her role in the Shadow League, an underground movement working to undermine the powerful and corrupt Arch Mage Wilhelm Blackflame.

When the League gets word that Blackflame intends to detain—and execute—a leading political family, Hitomi volunteers to help the family escape. But there are more secrets at play than Hitomi’s, and much worse fates than execution. When Hitomi finds herself captured along with her charges, it will take everything she can summon to escape with her life.

Release date:  January 9, 2014

MoA_FC_FNL16_A_lowres

Memories of Ash (The Sunbolt Chronicles, Book 2)

In the year since she cast her sunbolt, Hitomi has recovered only a handful of memories. But the truths of the past have a tendency to come calling, and an isolated mountain fastness can offer only so much shelter. When the High Council of Mages summons Brigit Stormwind to stand trial for treason, Hitomi knows her mentor won’t return—not with Arch Mage Blackflame behind the charges.

Armed only with her magic and her wits, Hitomi vows to free her mentor from unjust imprisonment. She must traverse spell-cursed lands and barren deserts, facing powerful ancient enchantments and navigating bitter enmities, as she races to reach the High Council. There, she reunites with old friends, planning a rescue equal parts magic and trickery.

If she succeeds, Hitomi will be hunted the rest of her life. If she fails, she’ll face the ultimate punishment: enslavement to the High Council, her magic slowly drained until she dies.

Memories of Ash is the highly anticipated sequel to Sunbolt, Book 1 of The Sunbolt Chronicles.

>>> Release date:  May 30, 2016  <<<

 

MoA_Teaser1 FinalMoA_Teaser2 Final

 

22 thoughts on “10 Statements – Intisar Khanani

  1. Nice to meet you Intisar. Like you, I am a stay at home mom who morphs into a writer during the hours of darkness. Enjoyed your 10 statements, and love the sound of your books. Best of luck!

  2. Oddly enough, I don’t drink coffee, either. But that’s only because I’m allergic. I know, crazy, right? Tea, however, I drink by the gallon. I really enjoyed your 10 statements. Best of luck with your new release!

  3. Beautiful promo images, and I’m right there with you regarding coffee! I worked in Starbucks for four years and never drank it unless my manager made (so i could then describe it to customers). Never liked the taste…. love the smell!

Leave a reply :-)

