3 Quotes – Isabel Allende


Isabel_Allende

 

Isabel Allende, Chilean writer
(born: Isabel Allende Llona)

born:
August 2, 1942 in Lima, Peru

known for (among others):
La Casa de los Espíritus (The House of the Spirits), La Ciudad de las Bestias (City of the Beasts), Inés del Alma Mía (Ines of My Soul)

web site:  http://www.isabelallende.com/

 

If you change the way you tell your own story, you can change the colour and create a life in technicolour.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
I write to understand my circumstances, to sort out the confusion of reality, to exorcise my demons. But most of all, I write because I love it!
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
All stories interest me, and some haunt me until I end up writing them. Certain themes keep coming up: justice, loyalty, violence, death, political and social issues, freedom.

 

Which is your favourite quote by Isabel Allende?  🙂


22 thoughts on “3 Quotes – Isabel Allende

  1. She’s a wonderful writer and I’ve read many of her books. I saw on one of the comments that they had been in a class taught by her – wow, that must have been amazing!! No. 2 resonates most for me.

    • I whole-heartedly agree, Annika. I read La Casa de los Espíritus in 1989 – it was the first Isabel Allende experience for me; more followed.
      And #2 is a great choice.

  2. I can resonate with this one. “I write to understand my circumstances, to sort out the confusion of reality, to exorcise my demons. But most of all, I write because I love it!” I had the pleasure of taking a class taught by Isabel and have to say she is a delight and so helpful to those of us who know nothing. She has a great sense of humor as well.

  3. I really like the third one, Karen. I notice that many writers have themes that surface again and again even though their stories may be quite different. I love her books. Truly a great writer 🙂

Leave a reply :-)

