Bound: Sometimes fighting isn’t a choice… (Cage of Lies, #4) by Susanne Valenti


 

Cage_of_Lies_4

 

The author sent me a copy of this book (epub format) in exchange for an honest review.

My rating:  4.3  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

Locked in the darkness all hope should be lost but Maya has never felt so alive. She will have to fight for her survival even harder than before but she’s never had so much to live for. Everything has changed again and there are many obstacles in her way but she can’t give up now. Fate keeps conspiring against her but she is determined to get back to the city which owes her so much. They took her family, her home and the truth from her and she won’t stop until she’s paid them back.

 

Genre:  Science Fiction, Young Adult, Dystopian

Series:  Cage of Lies, #4

Size:  992 KB

Release Date:  2016-03-17

 

Teaser


“What do you want?” I whispered.

“Where is the resistance holed up? he asked calmly.

“What resistance? I asked.

“And so it begins!” Rat smiled, revealing his buck teeth in full force, as he stepped around me and grabbed a thick cloth. He pressed it down over my mouth and nose and I tried to squirm away from him.


 

My Opinion

The book continues Maya’s endeavour to free her parents. Now that she has found Coal, they have to reunite with their friends. I will not tell you more about the story than shown in the Goodreads plot description. This would spoil the fun of reading this book yourself.

With Bound, Susanne Valenti has created a compelling and cleverly elaborated fourth book in the Cage of Lies series. Maya and her friends/allies have to fight against their old foes – as usual it is a matter of life or death. I was drawn into the story right away – as an invisible ally. Susanne Valenti tells the story in a clever way – giving the reader the opportunity to be very close; she expertly elaborates her characters’ personal growth and paints a clear picture of the situations they find themselves in. As the story proceeds you learn more about the old and new protagonists and the world they live in. There are some real surprises, finding their way nicely into your perception of the story. I had a great time reading Bound.

This is a book for you if you appreciate a pretty stubborn protagonist (always in for a fight) in an interesting combination of the science-fiction, young adult, and dystopian genres, and romance. It is not hard-core science fiction.

A book and/or series to read again. Recommended!

In brief:

Writing Great
Plot Full of surprises
Mood Suspenseful
Pace Steady (fast)
Characters Developed
Violence Some violence
Sexual content Some sexual content
POV First person

 

About the author

I’m a dystopian / sci fi author (that’s the dream anyway) but my day job is a little less creative and a has a bit more catitude. That’s right, I made a terrible cat pun 😸. I work with my family running a boarding cattery (that’s a hotel for cats) and we also help some lovely rescue kitties while they look for their new homes.

I have a little sister who is similar to me in pretty much every way; we look alike, talk alike, love the same things, hate the same things with the same insane passion and are even both aspiring authors! 👯

I met my husband when I was seventeen. We have been together for ten years which is long enough for me to find out that he’s the most infuriating man I’ll ever meet and to learn what true love really is. I am insanely lucky to have him next to me in everything I do even if we never look at anything in quite the same way.

 

Connect with the Author:

 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Bound?  Or – if you did not yet read Bound – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If Bound was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

Leave a reply :-)

