10 Statements – Dane Cobain


Dane_Cobain

 

Dane Cobain (High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, UK) is an independent poet, musician and storyteller with a passion for language and learning. When he’s not in front of a screen writing stories and poetry, he can be found working on his book review blog or developing his website, www.danecobain.com. His debut novella, No Rest for the Wicked, was released in the summer of 2015.

 

Find me…

Website:  www.danecobain.com

Facebook:  www.facebook.com/danecobainmusic

Twitter:  www.twitter.com/danecobain

Amazon:  Dane Cobain

 

My personal mottoes:

Do something worth remembering.
“Be yourself.”

 

10 statements
  1. A typical work day begins with… a coffee. I’m not really a morning person, and I prefer to work at night. That tends to work well, because I have a day job at a marketing agency, and so I start off with a coffee there, do my 9-5, and then head home. A typical work evening usually begins with me putting Netflix on in the background and loading up my to-do list.
  2. I lose track of time in the evenings. The days always seem to drag, particularly when it’s a weekday, but the evenings always seem to fly past and before I know it, it’s one o’clock in the morning and I’m forcing myself to stop writing.
  3. I have always… been busy. Even when I was a kid, I was always doing something, and once I started taking writing seriously, I pretty much dedicated all of my time to it. These days, I multitask – a lot. I try to cram as much productivity into every day as possible. Every second is accounted for. For example, I memorise new poems whilst jogging, and I write them on my cigarette breaks.
  4. I have never… had writer’s block. It’s true! I always have a huge stack of writing to do, as well as a backlog of ideas to work through, and so there’s always something that I can turn my hand to. Sometimes it takes me longer to get the words down, but that’s about it.
  5. Home means to me… somewhere that I can feel safe and be productive. I moved into a new apartment about three months ago, and it feels more like home than anywhere I’ve lived since I moved to university, eight years or so ago.
  6. I am inspired by… words and other people’s work. No writer works in a vacuum, and I find it fascinating to see how other people are using them.
  7. I would like to meet…  Phillip Pullman. He was a huge influence on me when I was a kid, and I grew up with his His Dark Materials trilogy. It’s what made me fall in love with reading!
  8. My worst character trait… is my inability to relax. I’m on edge all of the time because I’m always working – in fact, at the time of writing, it’s my birthday, but that hasn’t stopped me from cracking on with a few different writing projects. It can annoy the people who are close to me, but it’s just how I work.
  9. My best character trait… is probably the fact that I like to help people. Even when it comes to my writing, I tend to hope that someone else will read it and find it useful, even if it’s just to cheer them up or to entertain them after they’ve had a bad day.
  10. The best advice I was given… was probably to write about what you know about. It’s common sense, really, but it certainly seems to work. And that’s kind of how Former.ly ended up coming about.

Books

Formerly

 

Former.ly: The Rise and Fall of a Social Network

When Dan Roberts starts his new job at Former.ly, he has no idea what he’s getting into. The site deals in death – its users share their innermost thoughts, which are stored privately until they die. Then, their posts are shared with the world, often with unexpected consequences.

But something strange is going on, and the site’s two erratic founders share a dark secret. A secret that people are willing to kill for.

Buy link:  www.danecobain.com/formerly

 

Eyes_Like_Lighthouses

 

Eyes Like Lighthouses When the Boats Come Home

Eyes Like Lighthouses is Dane Cobain’s first book of poetry, distilled from the sweat of a thousand memorised performances in this reality and others. It’s not for the faint-hearted. “I’ve never seen anyone do a stream of consciousness piece as talented as that. Very impressed.” – Mark Allsard-Will, author of Saskatch-A-Man and co-founder of Cuckoo’s Nest Press “Dane’s poetry is a multi-layered spiral of the macabre, quirky humour and disjointed imagery. Not only does he make you think, he captures the small forgotten moments of everyday life.” – Nikki Dudley, co-editor of Streetcake Magazine “…[Dane] combines concrete detail with socioeconomic concerns.” – Lorna Wood, associate editor of Gemini Magazine.

Buy link:  www.danecobain.com/eyeslikelighthouses

 

No_Rest_for_the_Wicked

 

No Rest for the Wicked

When the Angels attack, there’s NO REST FOR THE WICKED. Father Montgomery, an elderly priest with a secret past, begins to investigate after his parishioners come under attack, and with the help of Jones, a young businessman with an estranged child, Montgomery begins to track down the origin of the Angels. The Angels are naked and androgynous. They speak in a dreadful harmony with no clear leader. These aren’t biblical cherubs tasked with the protection of the righteous – these are deadly creatures of light that have the power to completely eradicate. When Jones himself is attacked, Father Montgomery knows he has to act fast. He speaks to the Angels and organises a final showdown where he’s asked to make the ultimate sacrifice.

Buy link:  www.danecobain.com/norest

 

 

7 thoughts on “10 Statements – Dane Cobain

  1. Pingback: Come On Up to the House by Dane Cobain – My train of thoughts on…

  2. Pingback: No Rest for the Wicked by Dane Cobain – My train of thoughts on…

  3. Pingback: Former.ly: The Rise and Fall of a Social Network by Dane Cobain – My train of thoughts on…

Leave a reply :-)

