Poll: New Design – Book Review Template


Everything_OK

 

The author sent me an ARC of this book (xxxx format) in exchange for an honest review.

My rating:  ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Plot
(by Goodreads)

Plot …

Plot …

 

Genre(s):  X, Y, Z

Series:  n.a.

Length:  … pages

Release date:  YYYY-MM-DD

 

Teaser


“Teaser…”


My Opinion

This book …

With XYZ, John Doe/Jane Doe/Joe Bloggs has created a …

This is a book for you if you like …

In brief:

Cover ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Writing ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Plot ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Characters ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Mood Suspenseful
Pace Fast
POV First person
Violence (scale 1-5) ! ! !
Sexual content (scale 1-5) !

 

About the author

John Doe/Jane Doe/Joe Bloggs, ...

 

Connect with the author:

Twitter:  xyz
Website:  xyz
Amazon:  John Doe/Jane Doe/Joe Bloggs
Amazon UK:  buy link
Amazon US:  buy link

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about XYZ?  Or – if you did not yet read XYZ – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If XYZ was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂


[If applicable:  References to other blog posts.]

[If applicable:  Reference to (and/or logo for) Rosie’s Book Review Team.]

 

Poll

Changes:  ‘My rating’, ‘In brief’

 

Please seize the opportunity to comment. Further suggestions?! >>> Name them!  🙂

Regarding the genre symbols (‘Genre(s)’) – this is not forgotten, Sue. I will have to hunt for an adequate set of symbols…

 

Save

25 thoughts on “Poll: New Design – Book Review Template

  1. I like the look. One thing I thought of looking at this, what about language? I know it sounds weird, but that seems to be a concern for some people. Sometimes even more than violence and sex.

      • Keywords could be used to define the swear word ranges. Another possibility: using 1-5 red exclamation marks, signalling ‘clean’ language by ‘-‘; or using green, amber, or red bullets (thus reducing the rating possibility to three options).

      • I like the green/amber/red one. A challenge is that there is some personal limits in here like sex and violence. I think with the green/amber/red, you would simplify it enough that people can work off their own definitions. I keep thinking about how some people consider ‘damn’ a bad word and others don’t.

      • I really like this angle, Charles.
        Content mostly harmless: :mrgreen:
        Medium range content: 😳
        Graphic language/detail: 😡
        As usual, this will reflect my take on things, opinions may differ.

      • Thank you for supporting my template optimisation, Charles. Highly appreciated. Whenever you need support – please count me in. 🙂

  2. I like it. I don’t like the cinephiles question, never did, never will: For it, I would quote Rhett Butler’s last line. The rest is great as it is.

    • Thank you very much for your feedback – it is definitely food for thought, Markus. This is actually the first time that someone admits his dislike for the cinephiles question. I consider omitting it; only mentioning movie potential in selected cases.

    • Thank you very much, Eve! 🙂
      If I remember correctly, I asked these questions right from the start. It is always nice to know if I could interest someone in a book. Some books might become great movies/series as well…

Leave a reply :-)

