3 Quotes – Philip Pullman


Philip_Pullman

 

Philip Pullman, British novelist

born:
October 19, 1946 in Norwich, Norfolk, England, UK

known for (among others):
His Dark Materials

web site:  http://www.philip-pullman.com/

 

And before I’d got to the end of the first paragraph, I’d come up slap bang against a fundamental problem that still troubles me today whenever I begin a story, and it’s this: where am I telling it from?
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
We don’t need lists of rights and wrongs, tables of do’s and don’ts: we need books, time, and silence. Thou shalt not is soon forgotten, but Once upon a time lasts forever.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
If you can’t think of what to write, tough luck; write anyway. If you can think of lots more when you’ve finished the three pages, don’t write it; it’ll be that much easier to get going next day.

 

Which is your favourite quote by Philip Pullman?  🙂


24 thoughts on “3 Quotes – Philip Pullman

  1. We don’t need lists of rights and wrongs, tables of do’s and don’ts: we need books, time, and silence. Thou shalt not is soon forgotten, but Once upon a time lasts forever. So true.

  2. II loved this one “If you can’t think of what to write, tough luck; write anyway. If you can think of lots more when you’ve finished the three pages, don’t write it; it’ll be that much easier to get going next day.” Since I do the same with my 1000 words. I stop after 1000.(no matter what)

  3. My favourite is the third – I’ve found that to be so true. If I have lots of ideas I always make sure to save some for the next day. So much fun to return and continue!

Leave a reply :-)

