3 Quotes – Tom Robbins


Tom_Robbins

 

Tom Robbins, American novelist, short story writer, essayist
(born: Thomas Eugene Robbins)

born:
July 22, 1932 in Blowing Rock, North Carolina, USA

known for (among others):
Even Cowgirls Get the Blues, Half Asleep in Frog Pajamas

 

http://www.amazon.com/Tom-Robbins/e/B000APVAHM

 

Humanity has advanced, when it has advanced, not because it has been sober, responsible, and cautious, but because it has been playful, rebellious, and immature.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
In fiction, when you paint yourself into a corner, you can write a pair of suction cups onto the bottoms of your shoes and walk up the wall and out the skylight and see the sun breaking through the clouds. In non-fiction, you don’t have that luxury.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
When I go to the shore, I take along the poems of Pablo Neruda. I suppose it’s because the poems are simultaneously lush and ripe and kind of lazy, yet throbbing with life – like summer itself.

 

Which is your favourite quote by Tom Robbins?Β  πŸ™‚


Save

17 thoughts on “3 Quotes – Tom Robbins

  1. I like them all! I would say that the first quote listed would be my favorite because it’s not all about being stiff and responsible. Sometimes you have to just go out, enjoy, and have fun and I believe that great ideas and discoveries have been brought up accidentally as a result. Check out my page when you get the chance and let me know in the comments what you think about the quotes on my page πŸ™‚

    • This is a great choice; I totally agree that it’s not all about following every regulation that is out there.
      Just followed your page, looking forward to seeing what else you come up with. πŸ™‚

  2. Nice quotes, Karen. I agree with him on reading Neruda. The one about writing fiction sounds so “Tom Robbins.” My favorite book of his was Jitterbug Perfume. Loved that book πŸ™‚

  3. I like this one.”In fiction, when you paint yourself into a corner, you can write a pair of suction cups onto the bottoms of your shoes and walk up the wall and out the skylight and see the sun breaking through the clouds. In non-fiction, you don’t have that luxury.” I wonder how I could ever write the truth.

Leave a reply :-)

