3 Quotes – Cecilia Ahern


cecelia_ahern

 

Cecilia Ahern, Irish novelist

born:
September 30, 1981 in Dublin, Ireland

known for (among others):
P.S. I Love You, The Book of Tomorrow, The Marble Collector; for TV “Samantha Who?”

web site:ย  http://uk.cecelia-ahern.com/

 

I always like to entertain, first of all, and if the readers take anything away from it that helps them with their own lives, well then, that is a bonus.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
Although when I start a novel I know how it will begin and end, I like to let the people within the story take me on a journey between those points without having a fixed plan.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
I always take a story that’s kind of out there, like an urban myth. I take some possibility that people imagine, that they are familiar with, and try to turn it into a story.

 

Which is your favourite quote by Cecilia Ahern?ย  ๐Ÿ™‚


21 thoughts on “3 Quotes – Cecilia Ahern

  1. I like the second one because that’s the way it usually is for me – I know the beginning and the end, it’s just the middle that’s a little murky.

  2. I like the middle quote, letting the story tell itself…I always dream of writing…come up with so many ideas it’s hard to settle down and choose one and begin.

  3. #2, because taking a journey with characters is always unexpected and much less formulaic.๐Ÿ˜Š

  4. Hi Karen. Love the quotes. I sent you an email but haven’t heard back. It’s about Naked Alliances. You helped me out by beta reading and I’d like to get you a copy of the completed product.

    • Thank you for the praise, Sue.
      I apologise for not getting back to you earlier. I wasn’t feeling too well – therefore I still have a lot of catching up to do. I gladly accept a copy, of course. ๐Ÿ˜Œ

  5. I like #3, because it is exactly what Cecilia’s books are about. She knows how to make a good story from simple and familiar things ๐Ÿ™‚ . Love her books.

  6. This one is exactly how I like to work. “Although when I start a novel, I know how it will begin and end, I like to let the people within the story take me on a journey between those points without having a fixed plan.” Sometimes the ending is also in question given what came up in the middle.

    • Excellent choice and way of working, John. If the original ending does not completely fit, slightest modifications nearly always do the trick.

Leave a reply :-)

