Ireland 2016 – autumn


Dear readers,

Once again we followed Dublin’s call – as we often do this time of year.  :mrgreen:

In addition to the usual strolling, Wolfgang and I showed Elfe some ‘new’ places.  Among them:

Bray, seaside (within 20 minutes!)

 

Maynooth

20161101_144501

 

Skerries Mills, seen from the DART

20161102_141243

 

Skerries, South Strand

20161102_155220

 

Glasnevin Cemetery

One inscription left me awestruck:

Do not stand by my grave and weep. I am not there, I do not sleep.
I am a thousand winds that blow, I am a diamond glint in snow.
I am the sunlight on ripened grain, I am the gentle autumn rain.

When you awake in the morning hush, I am the swift uplifting rush
of quiet birds in circling flight. I am the soft star shine at night.
Do not stand by my grave and cry. I am not there… I did not die.

 

30 thoughts on “Ireland 2016 – autumn

  1. Maynooth and Skerries, both places special to me. Lovely pictures, too. Next time you are over we will have to meet up for a coffee and a chat! 😊

    • We both share the love for Skerries, Ali. 🙂
      Let’s see if you find the time 2017-02-20/21 (our niece’s birthday); February 19-22 if I remember correctly. We will certainly spend some hours in Skerries. 🙂

  2. I have this poem on the inside of my address book, so hope my children and grandchildren take comfort in the thoughts. I have handwritten this on cards to the bereaved. Lovely post, Karen. 🙂

    • This is a lovely idea, Robin. It is comforting; something to have with me at all times. Loss – even years later – can overwhelm us anytime; reading this poem can help. Thank you for the inspiration, Robin. 🙂

    • This poem truly is of a beautiful intensity, Lorraine. Skerries is a lovely place to be. Thanks to the DART, Dublin, Dun Laoghaire, Bray, and Greystones are in easy reach.

Leave a reply :-)

