3 Quotes – Francesca Lia Block


francesca_lia_block

 

Francesca Lia Block, American writer

born:
December 3, 1962 in Los Angeles, California, USA

known for (among others):
The Weetzie Bat series, I Was A Teenage Fairy, Wasteland

Amazon:  Francesca Lia Block

2005:  Margaret A. Edwards Lifetime Achievement Award

 

Writing is literally transformative. When we read, we are changed. When we write, we are changed. It’s neurological. To me, this is a kind of magic.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
I am constantly thinking ahead to what I want to write about in the future, and when I’m done with one project, I give myself a little time and then start the next one.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
Write with abandon and no constraints for first draft. Cut brutally and save in separate files on second draft. Add conflict; don’t be afraid to make your characters suffer. Read what you love. Write what you love. Love.

 

Which is your favourite quote by Francesca Lia Block?  🙂


13 thoughts on “3 Quotes – Francesca Lia Block

  1. karen = I love her takes on LOVE = ha!

    and the simplicity of this second chosen quote was really like getting to know a casual side of this author – I love the profound quotes – but when we hear about their MO – it is like chatting with coffee:

    “I am constantly thinking ahead to what I want to write about in the future, and when I’m done with one project, I give myself a little time and then start the next one.”

Leave a reply :-)

