Black Canvas by Fernando Pfaltzgraff


black_canvas

 

The author sent me an ARC of this book (epub format) in exchange for an honest review.

My rating:  ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Plot
(by Goodreads)

Instead of a plot – a poem:

 

 

My friends said
fuck you
it’s just a book
a book you wrote
and I said
no
this is me
bleeding through pages
like the trees
they used to be
bled a dark sap
that turned to ink
with which
I wrote
my soul.

Genre(s): Poetry > Contemporary
Series: n.a.
Length: 85 pages
Release date: 2016-09-13

 

Teaser


…Do you remember
when the wind howled
gushing through
the breaches of the window
and you thought
how terrifying that sound was…


My Opinion

This book comprises 20 poems.

With his début poetry book Black Canvas, Fernando Pfaltzgraff has created a poetry anthology that reminded me of Leonard Cohen and Bob Dylan in their depressive phase; even nowadays there can be occasional beauty in bluntness. While reading, I heard Leonard Cohen singing Suzanne in my mind – this carried me from one poem to the next. My favourite poem in Fernando Paltzgraff’s book is Howling Wind.

This is a book for you if you read poetry that does not embellish, and shows the author’s point-blank thoughts.

In brief:

Cover ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Writing ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Plot n.a.
Characters n.a.
Mood Dark
Pace Steady
POV First person – present tense
Language 😳 – 😡   language!
Violence 😳
Sexual content 😳

 

About the author

Fernando Pfaltzgraff is a young Brazilian author. In his blog profile he states: “Um Futuro Arquiteto, um Futuro Escritor, um Futuro Humano. Por enquanto, ainda em desenvolvimento.” (A future architect, a future writer, a future human being. For now still in development.)Connect with the author:

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Black Canvas?  Or – if you did not yet read Black Canvas – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

Leave a reply :-)

