10 Statements – Steve Boseley


steve-face-bw-big

 

Steve was born and raised in Nottingham, UK, in 1971, and he lives there now, with his wife, two children, two cats and a rabbit. Steve worked with children and young people for many years, before being diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis at the age of just 30.  He now works for a local charity, supporting and empowering disabled people.  Writing resurfaced following his diagnosis, offering endless imaginary worlds to escape in to.

After several false starts, Steve was published in several online horror webzines, including Microhorror, Schlock! Horror, and several others, and he has also had work published by Alfie Dog fiction and those stories will be appearing in one of his future collections. Over the past 18 months, Steve has had stories included in the anthologies The Asylum Within, and the Halloween edition of Dead but Dreaming. Most recently, Steve was a guest author for the short story collection Deathly Musings, which was at the end of 2015.

Steve’s next goal was to self-publish his first book, which he succeeded in doing, when Die, Blossom, Bloom was published in May of 2016.  His second book, A Sinister Six, is about to be published. It is a collection of some of Steve’s best short stories.

Find me…

Website:  http://www.authorsteveboseley.com
Blog:  https://authorsteveboseley.wordpress.com
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/SteveBoseley
Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/authorsteveboseley
Pinterest:  https://uk.pinterest.com/steveboseley/

 

My personal motto:

“Accepting help is not the same as giving up.”

 

10 statements
  1. A typical work day begins with… Getting up at about 7am, bowl of cereal, get my son off to school, then to work. I work as a volunteer coordinator 9-5, but if I get into the office early, I can grab 15 minutes of reading / writing.
  2. I lose track of time When I’m engrossed in a book or a movie. If I can find a box-set to watch, I can probably get in half a dozen episodes back to back!
  3. I have always… Been my own biggest critic. As a boy growing up, it was my sporting achievements – they were never good enough. Even into my twenties and thirties, I could achieve 9 great things and 1 not so great, but I guarantee you that one thing would bug me. Multiple Sclerosis put an end to my sporting days, but even now with writing, I can still obsess over what I write (but that could just be the author part of me, I guess!).
  4. I have never… Seen a live badger. I live in a city but surely I should have seen one in the last 45 years?
  5. Home means to me… Being with my wife and our two children.
  6. I am inspired by… Some of the many amazing indie authors that I follow and speak with. They are an amazing group of people and always happy to offer a word of encouragement if needed.
  7. I would like to meet…  Charles Darwin. I would like to discuss his thoughts on disabled people, and the eugenics movement that his work fostered. Darwin said “We civilised men…. do our utmost to check the process of elimination; we build asylums for the imbecile, the maimed and the sick… Thus the weak members of society propagate their kind.” I think I would like to chat with him about that.
  8. My worst character trait… Stubbornness. As a wheelchair user, I find that people want to help – open doors, push me, etc. It drives me mad. I don’t like accepting help, even when it would make my life soooo much easier. This, in turn, drives my wife crazy. Infuriating. Can I have that as well?
  9. My best character trait… Organised (I think).
  10. The best advice I was given… “Do your best. Give 100%.”

a_sinister_six

A Sinister Six  ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ Now available to pre-order! ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

‘A Sinister Six’ is a collection of darkly disturbing stories, where the ordinary and mundane become extraordinary and fantastic.

Come along, as we journey to the edges of reality and glimpse what lies just beyond our reach. Discover that nothing is quite what it seems, and explore the horrors that travel with us throughout our lives.

The characters you will meet within have been forced beyond the boundary of their reality and have encountered what lies beyond.

**The print version (when available) will contain an additional 2 stories, but during the pre-order period, people purchasing the ebook will also be able to get these additional stories as PDF files by emailing a screen shot of the pre-order purchase to authorsteveboseley@gmail.com**

Pre-order links:  books2read.com/u/bMG255

 

Sample (taken from A Snap of the Fingers)

Seth looked down at his hand and rubbed it, while he tried to comprehend what had just happened. Red stood across the room and looked at him, impassive.
“Can you really cure her? Make it go away? The cancer I mean.”
“Yes. But you need to do something for me first.”
“What?”
“It’s got to be our secret.” Red made a gesture of zipping his mouth closed. “I won’t help your mum if you tell anyone.”
Seth had learned about men like this at school: paedophiles. He began to edge towards the door. Red noticed the look on the boy’s face and held up his hands.
“No, no! It’s not like that. I simply require you,” He paused before leaning forwards. His smile had disappeared, “to kill two people for me,” he finished.
Seth stopped where he was, his mouth falling open.
“I couldn’t kill anyone. I’m ten.”
“No problem. I’m not going to force you. You should probably go and see your mum before it’s too late.” Red turned his back and walked to the window. Seth went to the door and reached for the handle, but stopped before turning it and looked back at Red.
“Who would I need to kill?”
Red turned slowly, hands steepled in front of his chest. His smile was back in place.
“Well, that’s up to you.” He held up his index finger. “One must be someone you don’t know.” He paused slightly, allowing Seth to race to the conclusion. “The second must be someone you know. Someone you know well.”


Cover Reveal: A Sinister Six

 

5 thoughts on “10 Statements – Steve Boseley

Leave a reply :-)

