The Reading Group: December (The Reading Group, #1) by Della Parker


the_reading_group_1

 

I downloaded this ‘festive FREE short story’ (mobi format) from Amazon.

My rating:  ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Plot
(by Goodreads)

Meet the Reading Group: six women in the seaside village of Little Sanderton come together every month to share their love of reading. No topic is off-limits: books, family, love and loss . . . and don’t forget the glass of red!

Grace knows that the holiday season is going to be different this year. No turkey, no tinsel, no gorgeously wrapped gifts under the tree . . . how on earth is she going to break it to her little boys that Christmas is effectively cancelled? And can she bear to tell anyone her embarrassing secret? Enter the Reading Group: Grace’s life might have turned upside down but there’s no problem they can’t solve.

Genre(s): Literature & Fiction > Short Stories
Series: The Reading Group, #1
Length: 17 pages
Release date: 2016-12-01

 

Teaser


‘We’re going to read a book by one of our great British novelists,’ Jojo said producing the book with a flourish. ‘I give you A Christmas Carol by Mr Charles Dickens.’


My Opinion

Grace is not in a festive mood and does not want her reading group to know what troubles her.

With The Reading Group: December, Della Parker has created a nice and heart-warming beginning of The Reading Group series. It is a free and short read, a teaser for the following stories. Della Parker introduces her characters gently, even if they are not described in too much detail. The story is nicely elaborated and has a really good flow. I would have preferred a few pages more to get to know the characters better. As the following stories are longer, I am sure that they are worth reading even more. I like the concept of the reading group’s choice of books and the connection to characters’ situations.

This is a book for you if you like short stories, series, and links between books and real life.

In brief:

Cover ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Writing ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Plot ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Characters ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Mood Hopeful
Pace Steady
POV Third person – past tense
Language :mrgreen:
Violence :mrgreen:
Sexual content :mrgreen:

 

About the author

My first short story was published in 1987, when I was about… er hem… six – and since then I’ve sold over 1500 short stories and I regularly write serials, which have been published in both the UK and abroad. I’ve also sold hundreds of features and a handful of children’s stories.

I live Dorset with several dogs, one of whom looks more like a donkey!

I’m often asked for the secret of my success and it’s very simple. If I won the lottery tomorrow I would still write. I live and breathe writing. It has been a part of me for as long as I can remember. I simply cannot imagine a life without writing.

Connect with the author:

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about The Reading Group: December?  Or – if you did not yet read The Reading Group: December – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

Peace, coffee, and a cheesecake, my friends.

 

Save

Save

Save

2 thoughts on “The Reading Group: December (The Reading Group, #1) by Della Parker

  1. This was an enjoyable post with a pleasant sounding short story.
    I like short stories and collections on a subject, or group of women in this case. They are fun and relaxing to read. I just completed a “journal” style small book about the two Siamese cats who help Mr. Qwillereran solve mysteries. I have read Lillian Jackson Braun for years, but the slim book was perfect to read without having to remember the plot.
    Hope you have a wonderful new year, Karen!

    • Thank you for the praise, Robin.
      Qwilleran and his cats are awesome – I enjoy every bit of their stories. If you like rather short stories – I can recommend ‘In a Small Compass’. 😉
      Happy New Year, Robin!

Leave a reply :-)

