2017-01-19: Song of the day


John Denver – Take Me Home, Country Roads


Take me home, country roads
Almost heaven, West Virginia,
Blue ridge mountain, Shenandoah river,
Life is old there, older than the trees,
Younger than the mountains, blowing like a breeze

Country roads, take me home
To the place I belong,
West Virginia,
Mountain mamma,take me home
Country roads

All my memories, gather round her
Modest lady, stranger to blue water
Dark and dusty, painted on the sky
Misty taste of moonshine, tear drop in my eye

Country roads, take me home
To the place I belong,
West Virginia,
Mountain mamma, take me home
To the country roads

I hear her voice in the morning hour she calls me
Radio reminds me of my home far away
Driving down the road I get a feeling
That I should have been home yesterday, yesterday

Country roads, take me home
To the place I belong,
West Virginia,
Mountain mamma, take me home
Country roads

Country roads, take me home
To the place I belong,
West Virginia,
Mountain mamma, take me home
To the country roads

Take me home, that country road
Take me home, that country road

 

 

Peace, dear friends and readers.  ☘

 

15 thoughts on “2017-01-19: Song of the day

    • This is definitely one of my favourites as well, Teresa. Certainly nice when being played on the ukulele. 🙂
      Some great artists had to leave too soon, a real pity.

  1. When I moved from Kent to the US, my friends at work sang this song to me and changed the words to Colorado. Brings tears to my eyes still!

    • We all need some uplifting songs; this one of my favourites I just had to share. Lovely that you liked my choice, David.
      >>> Hugs <<<

Leave a reply :-)

